Infestation is one of the new cantrips from Unearthed Arcana: Starter Spells. Here is the relevant text

The target must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 1d6 piercing damage. If the target takes any of that damage, the target moves 5 feet in a random direction. Roll a d8 for the direction...

Does the target's movement here provoke opportunity attacks from any of my adjacent allies?


2 Answers 2


This spell ended up printed in Xanathar's Guide to Everything, with clarifying language.

This movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks, and if the direction rolled is blocked, the target doesn’t move.

I don't believe it was ever intended to provoke AoO.


As written, this doesn't trigger opportunity attacks.

You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

Since the spell doesn't use the target's movement, action or reaction, it won't provoke opportunity attacks.

That said, this is a very odd spell. With Unearthed Arcana, you have to remember the disclaimer:

These game mechanics are in draft form, usable in your campaign but not refined by design iterations or full game development and editing.

Why do I think it's odd? Well, lots of spells move a target around without using their movement, action, or reaction. But this spell says that "the target moves", not that they are moved. This suggests that it might be intended to use their movement, or possibly a reaction, similar to spells like Dissonant Whispers or Confusion.

So while, in its current form, the spell doesn't provoke opportunity attacks, between its current form and its published form (if it ever gets published), it may well be changed slightly so that it does.

  • \$\begingroup\$ This spell has now been released officially in XGE and answers the question explicitly: "...moves 5 feet in a random direction if it can move and its speed is at least 5 feet. Roll a d4 for the direction... This movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks, and if the direction rolled is blocked, the target doesn’t move." \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 21, 2018 at 18:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Rubiksmoose Sure, but the question was about the UA version. And please don't close every question involving forced movement and opportunity attacks as a dupe of yours. Your question is very general, and that's fine, but it doesn't answer this one at all. \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Commented Apr 22, 2018 at 0:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ I just thought it night be a helpful thing to note for future searchers but it's fine either way. Also, I agree the question is different. That would, in fact, be the reason why I did not close this one at all. I also didn't close nearly every question about the subject due to cases like this only the ones that were clearly duplicates. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 22, 2018 at 1:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Rubiksmoose You did, though? \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Commented Apr 22, 2018 at 1:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ oh sorry. I assumed I didn't because it wasn't closed. I actually disagree that it is not a duplicate but I don't think it matters that much honestly. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 22, 2018 at 1:43

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .