5
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

The PHB states that a wizard add 1d6 + constitution mod per level after first level. Would I subtract hit points when I level up if I have a negative constitution modifier and roll badly?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by kviiri, the dark wanderer, SirTechSpec, Purple Monkey, Miniman dnd-5e May 13 '17 at 0:58

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi DM Vegas! Welcome to the site. Please check out our tour to see how we work, and when you reach 20 rep, you'll be able to join us in Role-playing Games Chat. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener May 12 '17 at 21:29
8
\$\begingroup\$

Your hit points will never go down from leveling up. You add 1d6 (or 4), and apply your Con modifier, but the minimum of that is 1, so even if your Con modifier is -3, and you roll a 2, you add 1 to your hit point maximum for leveling up. I don't know if that has been clarified in the official errata, but at a minimum there's a Mearls tweet to that effect: https://twitter.com/mikemearls/status/582601826031132673

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you have a quote from the rules or errata to back this up? It isn't mentioned in specific class descriptions, nor on page 15 of the PHB under 'beyond 1st level' (where hit points are covered) \$\endgroup\$ – RichardJ May 12 '17 at 21:14

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.