13
\$\begingroup\$

A wizard casts Misty Step (2nd level bonus action) to get to an advantageous position, the rules state that if you want to cast another spell with your action this turn it has to be a 1 action cantrip.

The wizard wants to cast silent image though. Can he take the ready action so the spell is cast on the same round but not the same turn?

The rules say that readying a spell requires you to cast it as normal, and when the trigger comes you just release the energy, meaning you have to concentrate until then. I would rule that the spell is thus casted on the same turn, it's release is not, so it would be against the rule.

\$\endgroup\$
22
\$\begingroup\$

No, you can't.

When you use the ready action you cast the spell in your turn and hold it.

PHB p. 193 (emphasis mine):

When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy

If you cast a bonus action spell, you cannot cast another spell unless it is a cantrip with the casting time of 1 action.

PHB p. 202 (emphasis mine):

[...] You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.