Linked Questions

1 vote
4 answers
9k views

Can a tiefling cast spells from Devil's Tongue using Sorcerer/Bard spell slots? [duplicate]

The Devil's Tongue trait from SCAG states: Devil's Tongue. You know the vicious mockery cantrip. When you reach 3rd level, you can cast the charm person spell as a 2nd-level spell once with this ...
illustro's user avatar
  • 28.1k
4 votes
0 answers
3k views

does undying servitude add animate dead to the warlock spell list? [duplicate]

does the invocation undying servitude add animate dead to the warlock spell list? it says you may cast it without spending a spell slot once a day, however, does "once a day" apply to the ...
EMTGO's user avatar
  • 2,825
3 votes
0 answers
1k views

Can you cast racial spells with a spell slot? [duplicate]

Take for instance, a level 5 (standard) tiefling warlock. Would you be able to cast your Darkness and Hellish Rebuke spells with a spell slot? Both spells appear on the warlock spell list and could be ...
Himitsu_no_Yami's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
52 views

Drow magic are learned? [duplicate]

Drow spell are learned, can use slots to cast more than one time or use higher slots to increast power?
João Grando's user avatar
  • 1,885
55 votes
5 answers
85k views

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots? Say I play a wizard who learns cure wounds by taking the Magic Initiate feat. Could I cast that spell using the Wizard's ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
22 votes
7 answers
5k views

What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?

My understanding is that when a spell is known or prepared via one of your class features, or if you cast it via a class feature, it's considered a "class spell" (sorcerer spell, cleric spell, etc.) ...
CTWind's user avatar
  • 19.4k
13 votes
4 answers
6k views

Are spells learned from feats considered to be associated with your class?

The multiclassing spellcasting rules (PHB p. 164, or here in the basic rules) state: Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
4k views

Can you cast a racial spell if you do not have access to the spell slot required?

For example a Drow has the racial spell Darkness, spell level 2 (gained at player level 5). Can he cast the spell even if he is multiclassed (Eldritch Knight 3; Cleric 2) and only has spell slots up ...
SylarIsBack's user avatar
20 votes
2 answers
9k views

Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?

I have a high-elf wizard with the Fey Teleportation feat. According to the feat "You learn the Misty Step spell, and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast it ...
Raukus's user avatar
  • 203
7 votes
2 answers
11k views

If you get a spell through a racial ability, can you also take it as a spell from a class?

Say, for example, I'm a drow or a tiefling. I have the darkness spell once a day. However, I'm a warlock with Devil's Sight and I want as many chances to cast darkness as possible. Can I take darkness ...
Mei's user avatar
  • 79
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a Ring of Spell Storing bypass restrictions on racial trait spellcasting?

A Duergar (SCAG, p. 104; MToF, p. 81) can cast enlarge/reduce once per day but with a few caveats (emphasis mine): you can cast the enlarge/reduce spell on yourself..., using only the spell’s enlarge ...
David Coffron's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
5k views

Can a multiclass spellcaster use spell slots of a level higher than the spells he could learn through a class to cast a spell learned through a feat?

The question "Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?" asked whether a character can use a spell slot to cast a spell "learned&...
screamline's user avatar
  • 9,040
3 votes
1 answer
959 views

Can racial spell slots work with Sorcerer's Font of Magic & Flexible Magic?

Can racial spell slots work with Sorcerer's Font of Magic & Flexible Magic? EX: Can you use a tiefling's once a day Burning Hands Lv2 and convert it to 2 Sorcery Points? Can This work the other ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
12 votes
1 answer
9k views

Are the spells learned from the "Touched" feats considered class spells when cast using spell slots?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats published in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything each grant the use of two spells. Among other things, they say: You learn the [spells]. You can cast each of ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,276
12 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight with the Magic Initiate feat (picking the wizard list) use spell slots to cast the chosen 1st-level spell? [duplicate]

A bard who takes the Magic Initiate feat and chooses the bard spell list for the feat can use spell slots to cast the 1st-level spell they learn from the feat. A wizard who takes the feat and chooses ...
Greenfeuer's user avatar

15 30 50 per page