Linked Questions

21 votes
2 answers
2k views

Is a spell suppressed or removed when the target temporarily becomes invalid? [duplicate]

Based on Jeremy Crawford's tweet, if a target is under the effect of an ongoing spell, and then the target changes such that it is no longer a valid target, the spell no longer effects them. But does ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
73 views

Does Polymorph end spells that only target humanoids? [duplicate]

If I cast Charm Person on a human and then he or she is Polymorphed into an animal, does the spell end?
半金龙半天界兔子's user avatar
30 votes
5 answers
3k views

Does Polymorph break attunements with prerequisites?

Some magic items have prerequisites for attunement, most commonly requiring a specific race, class, or alignment. According to the rules on attunement: A creature's attunement to an item ends if the ...
smbailey's user avatar
  • 5,671
7 votes
4 answers
5k views

Can the Regenerate spell bring someone back from the dead?

The description of Regenerate states: You touch a creature and stimulate its natural healing ability. The target regains 4d8 + 15 hit points. For the duration of the spell, the target regains 1 hit ...
MivaScott's user avatar
  • 39.7k
18 votes
5 answers
4k views

How can I reliably increase our giant ape's AC to 16 (or better)?

A tactical problem to solve based on last night's session Tactical Situation Wizard polymorphs warlock (8th level) into a Giant Ape. (Did T-Rex last time, looking for variety and higher INT (7 vs 2); ...
KorvinStarmast's user avatar
16 votes
4 answers
2k views

Does True Polymorph end if the CR requirement is no longer met?

True polymorph is a spell that allows for the transformation of a creature into another of equal or lower CR. Does this spell end if the CR of the original creature is reduced after the true ...
David Coffron's user avatar
15 votes
5 answers
5k views

Is it possible to possess a non-humanoid creature with a combination of True Polymorph and Magic Jar?

True polymorph says: Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’...
AntiDrondert's user avatar
  • 1,813
20 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does the mind flayer's Extract Brain affect polymorphed or Wild Shaped humanoids?

A mind flayer has the following requirement in order to perform its Extract Brain Action (MM, 222): one incapacitated humanoid grappled by the mind flayer. If a humanoid has been polymorphed (PHB, ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 125k
20 votes
1 answer
9k views

How does a druid in Wild Shape interact with the Dominate Beast spell?

I believe it is clear that a druid in Wild Shape is a beast and therefore1 a valid target for the dominate beast spell: You attempt to beguile a beast that you can see within range. I am having ...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.3k
12 votes
2 answers
4k views

What happens to a Ghost when the Possessed creature polymorphs?

Consider the following: The party's resident barbarian, Conan, is targeted by a Ghost's "Possession" ability. He fails the save and is therefore possessed. Possession (Recharge 6): One humanoid ...
Alex Millette's user avatar
20 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can any effect in the game prevent gaining temporary hit points?

Certain effects in the game, such as the Chill Touch spell, prevent (re)gaining hit points : On a hit, the target [...] can't regain hit points until the start of your next turn. But can any effect ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.6k
16 votes
3 answers
4k views

Does a Paladin's Aura of Courage prevent or suspend frightened effects?

While you're standing in a Paladin ally's Aura of Courage: [the Paladin] and friendly creatures within 10 feet of [the Paladin] can’t be Frightened while [the Paladin is] conscious. Does this ...
Vigil's user avatar
  • 19.1k
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

What happens when exhaustion passes 6th level on an immune creature?

On another question - Is an Immune creature considered to have the condition without suffering its effects? - it was concluded that a creature could gain exhaustion levels, while being immune to the ...
NeutralTax's user avatar
  • 3,022
9 votes
2 answers
9k views

Do lingering effects vanish when you use Wild Shape?

When you are a druid affected by some kind of ongoing effect (such as being poisoned or burning, or whatever) and you switch to your wild shape - do these effects stay? Are they + their duration ...
PixelMaster's user avatar
  • 26.1k
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

What happens to a destroyed Pact Weapon?

Ned is a Hexblade Warlock. He found a magical net+1 and made it his pact weapon via his Pact of the Blade feature: You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ...
order's user avatar
  • 3,861

15 30 50 per page