Linked Questions

3 votes
1 answer

Can I use extra attack as the bonus action to improved war magic to get 2 hits and a spell? [duplicate]

The War Magic feature of the Eldritch Knight states (PHB p. 75): when you use your action to cast a cantrip [or at level 18+ a spell], you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action. I'm quite ...
MadWolf's user avatar
  • 205
64 votes
2 answers

Weapon attacks compared with damaging cantrips?

Cantrips scale automatically with character level. Weapon attacks only scale with ability score and any extra attack features you might get. How could the damage of weapon attacks keep up?
András's user avatar
  • 64.6k
51 votes
2 answers

How many attacks can a fighter with two-weapon fighting make at 5th level?

I have a 5th level fighter with the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style. What is the number of attacks I can make? I say 4 attacks, but others say 3 because they say the rule on page 72 states that ...
Clancey's user avatar
  • 513
62 votes
5 answers

Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell?

This question is updated to request additional answers and details in light of information now available in the Dungeon Master's Guide. In the released DM basic rules, Lost Mine of Phandelver, Hoard ...
Orvir's user avatar
  • 5,977
39 votes
4 answers

Does a fighter's Action Surge trigger Extra Attack?

Context A player in my game will play a fighter with a greatsword. At 5th level he has Extra Attack and the option to use Action Surge. PHB p.72 states: Action Surge. Starting at 2nd level, you ...
Vadruk's user avatar
  • 10.1k
22 votes
4 answers

Would a Rogue's Uncanny Dodge feature halve the damage of a Magic Missile spell? [duplicate]

This came up during a game this weekend where the rogue player claimed that, since she was taking damage from it and she could see where the "attack" was coming from, she could reduce that ...
Carey Sauerbrun's user avatar
14 votes
10 answers

Can you combo attacks with the Booming Blade cantrip?

I understand that so long as conditions are met, you can Sneak Attack as part of the melee attack from the Booming Blade cantrip. Can you dual wield and attack with both weapons after casting Booming ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
19 votes
8 answers

Can a wererat be executed with a non-magical guillotine?

A very similar situation came up in a game I am DMing. The players captured and tied down a wererat and tried to execute him with a greataxe. I initially ruled that this does not work, since the ...
Solanacea's user avatar
  • 862
25 votes
6 answers

Can Siege Weapons trigger Sneak Attack and other weapon-based class features?

The criteria for a Rogue's Sneak Attack is The Attack must use a Finesse or a ranged weapon. The criteria for an Eldritch Knight's soulbound weapon is Over the course of 1 hour short rest, you ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.6k
19 votes
4 answers

Can Mage Hand be used to indirectly trigger an attack?

Since mage hand cannot attack, would I be able to will it to pull a string tied to a trigger mechanism such as crossbow?
Richard Cranium's user avatar
17 votes
6 answers

Does this strict reading of the rules allow both Extra Attack and the Thirsting Blade warlock invocation to be used together?

The warlock's Thirsting Blade eldritch invocation cannot be normally used with the (non-warlock) class feature Extra Attack, since both feature explicitly say you attack twice instead of once. But it ...
Ko_sct's user avatar
  • 450
19 votes
4 answers

Can a Valor bard Ready a bard spell, then use the Battle Magic feature to make a weapon attack before releasing the spell?

College of Valor bards (PHB, p. 55) get the Battle Magic feature at 14th level: You have mastered the art of weaving spellcasting and weapon use into a single harmonious act. When you use your ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
58 votes
1 answer

What is the proper way to style references to D&D game elements?

(Preface: I'm not looking to establish an official formatting style we, on this stack, must adhere to. This is for my own personal writing consistency when writing on the topic of 5e.) I've been ...
CTWind's user avatar
  • 19.4k
14 votes
3 answers

If your fighter casts Green-Flame Blade or Booming Blade, do you still get extra Attacks?

If you're a high-elf fighter who has the Extra Attack feature, when you cast green-flame blade or booming blade, do you get to make your additional attacks? If so, can you cast the spell again on ...
LightningColin's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers

Can I use one of my attacks to cast a cantrip?

In the D&D campaign I am currently participating in, I am playing as a level 5 high elf champion (I actually just reached level 5 at the end of the last session). As a High Elf, I got a free ...
SuperJedi224's user avatar

15 30 50 per page
2 3 4 5