Linked Questions

2 votes
1 answer
1k views

What counts as a sorcerer spell for the purposes of the Wild Magic sorcerer's Wild Magic Surge feature? [duplicate]

The Wild Magic sorcerer's Wild Magic Surge feature states (PHB, p. 103): Starting when you choose this origin at 1st level, your spellcasting can unleash surges of untamed magic. Immediately after ...
Amarov's user avatar
  • 371
57 votes
2 answers
24k views

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be "official rulings"?

The 2019 Sage Advice Compendium has been released. Previously, the SAC has indicated that Jeremy Crawford's tweets were considered to be official rulings. Is this still true?
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 94.8k
27 votes
5 answers
20k views

If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot, can you cast that spell using a spell slot?

A 10th level Drow warlock (for instance) has the following Drow Magic racial trait (PHB p. 24), in addition to its warlock spellcasting abilities: You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach ...
Protonflux's user avatar
  • 13.8k
27 votes
2 answers
7k views

Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell using the Spellcasting feature?

This question got me thinking about the mechanics of the Magic Initiate feat when you have class levels in the class into which you were inducted. Among the classes you can pick with this feat are ...
GoblinTheodicy's user avatar
13 votes
4 answers
6k views

Are spells learned from feats considered to be associated with your class?

The multiclassing spellcasting rules (PHB p. 164, or here in the basic rules) state: Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 94.8k
12 votes
2 answers
11k views

Does the "Cantrip Formulas" optional Wizard feature allow a racial cantrip to be swapped for another?

The Tasha's Cauldron of Everything optional level 3 Wizard feature Cantrip Formulas does the following: You have scribed a set of arcane formulas in your spellbook that you can use to formulate a ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 9,984
9 votes
2 answers
31k views

Can a bard cast Identify as a ritual without having the Ritual Caster feat?

Well I'm really confused by how rituals work, and the idea of the Ritual Caster feat/wizard bonus. If I learn the spell identify, it seems to me I can cast this as a ritual to not spend a spell slot? ...
paul23's user avatar
  • 759
20 votes
2 answers
9k views

Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?

I have a high-elf wizard with the Fey Teleportation feat. According to the feat "You learn the Misty Step spell, and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast it ...
Raukus's user avatar
  • 203
9 votes
4 answers
2k views

Does this allow Shillelagh to be cast using Constitution?

At first level select cleric, with the nature domain using the feature Acolyte of Nature to select Shillelagh. At 1st level, you learn one druid cantrip of your choice. This cantrip counts as a ...
Daveman's user avatar
  • 6,409
12 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does learning the same spell from different sources allow it to benefit from bonuses from all sources?

For example, an Arcana cleric takes Firebolt with Arcane Initiate, then multiclasses with Artillerist artificer, and also takes Firebolt as one of the Artificer cantrips. Assuming this character has 5 ...
Cyanic's user avatar
  • 3,802
6 votes
2 answers
5k views

Can spells from the Magic Initiate feat be swapped out for different ones?

For example, a character takes the Magic Initiate feat at level 4, picking spells from the Wizard spell list, because they have been researching and learning all they can about magic (such as a ...
Newbie12345's user avatar
  • 1,765
16 votes
1 answer
2k views

Could a Wild Magic Surge be triggered by a Wild Magic Sorcerer using a Magic Initiate spell?

Under Wild Magic Surge it states: Immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of first level or higher, the DM can have you roll a d20. Since Magic Initiate has you choose spells from a specific ...
zanman60's user avatar
  • 2,201
12 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can firbolgs cast their racial Detect Magic spell as a ritual?

Firbolgs get the Firbolg Magic trait (VGtM, p. 107), which lets them cast Detect Magic. Normally, Detect Magic is able to be cast as a ritual. Can this version be cast by a Druid as a ritual, or can ...
Eternallord66's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
4k views

As a Sorcerer, can you trade out the spells granted by the Drow High Magic feat?

The Drow High Magic racial feat (XGtE, p. 74) states: You learn more of the magic typical of dark elves. You learn the detect magic spell and can cast it at will, without expending a spell slot. You ...
Khashir's user avatar
  • 13.4k
13 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a sorcerer spell cast from a magic item trigger a Wild Magic Surge?

A Wild Magic Surge may happen when a Wild Magic sorcerer (PHB, p. 103-104) casts a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher: Once per turn, the DM can have you roll a d20 immediately after you cast a ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.7k

15 30 50 per page