Linked Questions

51 votes
6 answers
5k views

Is there a hierarchy of specificity?

As we all know from page 7 of the Player's Handbook, "Specific Beats General". The way it discusses 'general' and 'specific' is basically that 'general' means the standard game rules, as given in ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
17 votes
4 answers
14k views

Do spells with a range of "Self" target the caster?

I'm new to D&D, and was thinking about creating a Beast Master ranger. Do spells with a range of "Self" target the caster? There's some debate in my group on this subject. Unlike spells ...
Jyuasnteisn's user avatar
27 votes
2 answers
8k views

Can the Portable Hole magic item be used to get around the 10-foot movement restriction on the Glyph of Warding spell?

The description of the Glyph of Warding spell states, in part (emphasis mine): When you cast this spell, you inscribe a glyph that later unleashes a magical effect. You inscribe it either on a ...
Voromir Kadien's user avatar
12 votes
5 answers
2k views

How can I create a character who can assume the widest possible range of creature sizes?

Just for fun, I want to create a character who can vary from really tiny or smaller to huge or bigger. Which is the bigger/smaller combination to create that "Ant Man" style char? It can: Be from ...
Malkev's user avatar
  • 443
11 votes
4 answers
3k views

What is the most damage that can be done in a single melee attack without features that double damage?

I've been trying to come up with builds that maximise burst damage recently, but I'm not much of an optimiser, usually preferring themes and/or roleplay. I'd come up with something along the lines of ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.1k
10 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is there a class ability, spell or other, that lets you share spells with your familiar?

Scenario: I have a Wizard/Warlock with the Pact of the Chain feature, who I have themed off He-Man. I love the idea of using Tenser's Transformation to buff both he and his familiar up for combat. ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
17 votes
3 answers
2k views

Who is considered to be the caster of the spell coming from a triggered Spell Glyph?

Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or an area. The spell being ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
8 votes
4 answers
2k views

Can a bard who takes Contingency at 14th level use Spell Glyphs to Contingency-Revivify the party?

Here's the premise- Upcast your glyph of warding as a 7th level spell slot, select spell glyph. Trigger for glyph is "When [Desired Party Member] touches this glyph." Cast Contingency->...
TheFallen0ne's user avatar
  • 4,452
11 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does a spell cast from a Glyph of Warding with a range of Self have infinite effective range?

This question is asked under the assumption that the DM will allow spells with a range of "Self" to be stored in a glyph of warding1. The top answer to "What are the targeting range ...
smbailey's user avatar
  • 5,782
8 votes
3 answers
1k views

What happens if you store the Simulacrum spell in a Glyph of Warding spell?

I'm looking at the option of storing Simulacrum in an 8th-level Glyph of Warding. My question is how it will determine what creature gets duplicated. Simulacrum says: You shape an illusory ...
Dacromir's user avatar
  • 10.3k
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can a demon summoned by the Summon Greater Demon spell be summoned into and contained by the spell's blood circle?

Can a demon summoned by the Summon Greater Demon spell be summoned into and contained by the spell's blood circle? I'm designing a character who can summon demons and bind them with Planar Binding. ...
Xepheus Messorem's user avatar
14 votes
2 answers
716 views

What are the targeting range limitations of Glyph of Warding?

Glyph of warding states, in part: When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it targets the creature that triggered the glyph.If the spell affects an area, ...
TheVagrantDog's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
796 views

Can multiple castings of Glyph of Warding be used to activate multiple "Smite" spells on the same triggering attack?

Suppose a character has cast multiple Glyph of Warding spells, each with a different "Smite" spell (such as Searing Smite and Thunderous Smite). Assume the character somehow has access to ...
MikeQ's user avatar
  • 31.6k
3 votes
3 answers
612 views

Can you make a giant sized weapon using 'Creation'?

I want to create a weapon out of thin air to be used temporarily. My idea would be, As a 14th-level bard, to cast tenser's transformation into a glyph. Then polymorph into a Giant Ape (a Huge creature)...
Michael Peterson's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
405 views

Can you use Glyph of Warding to prepare for a difficult fight and avoid total party kill?

I was wondering if in the past our party could have prepared better to fight a potentially deadly foe. We had time to prepare for this and could have used a Glyph of Warding or two, but we didn't. We ...
Senmurv's user avatar
  • 9,749

15 30 50 per page