Linked Questions

92 votes
3 answers
14k views

What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?

What exactly is the difference between Attack action and attack? It seems each time a question regarding this pops up, there's always somebody arguing they are not different. I feel there should be a ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
26 votes
3 answers
6k views

Does grappling count as a hit?

Grappling is described as a "special melee attack" that replaces a single attack in the Attack action. There are a number of features and abilities that may be activated when one combatant hits ...
Disillusioned's user avatar
25 votes
1 answer
30k views

What counts as an attack?

I was looking over the class feature of the 'fiend' patron warlock in 5e. I'm a bit confused on what actions the player needs to take before they can use the 'Hurl Through Hell' ability on an enemy. ...
pbuchheit's user avatar
  • 655
15 votes
4 answers
3k views

Is there any way to "hit with an attack" without making an attack roll?

The PH is clear about what counts as an attack: If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 68.1k
11 votes
4 answers
14k views

What happens after an Echo Knight fighter grapples using its echo?

This question occurred to me after reading another one: Can the Echo Knight's Echo make Ability Checks? That question asks whether the Echo Knight fighter's echo can make ability checks. A ...
Rykara's user avatar
  • 29.5k
11 votes
1 answer
7k views

If a Swashbuckler rogue's melee attack misses a creature, does the Fancy Footwork feature still prevent opportunity attacks by the creature?

The Swashbuckler rogue's Fancy Footwork feature says (SCAG, p. 135; XGtE, p. 47): During your turn, if you make a melee attack against a creature, that creature can't make opportunity attacks against ...
Youjay's user avatar
  • 5,610
14 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can the reaction attack from the third benefit of the Sentinel feat be triggered by a shove or grapple?

The third benefit of the Sentinel feat says (PHB, p. 169-170; emphasis mine): When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 49.9k
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Does the Grappler feat give advantage on a subsequent shove attempt vs. your grappled target?

The Grappler feat says it gives advantage on attack rolls against a creature you are grappling. Does this include attempts to shove the grappled creature?
K.L.R.'s user avatar
  • 8,363
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Do grapple/shove/disarm attempts count as attacks for the Redemption paladin's Emissary of Redemption feature?

The Oath of Redemption paladin's 20th-level Emissary of Redemption feature (XGtE, p. 39) gives you resistance to all damage dealt by other creatures and automatically does radiant damage to creatures ...
Brother Ambrose's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
179 views

Does being slowed prevent using multiple shoves/grapples during an attack action?

If a creature has been slowed either from the slow spell or a stone golem's slow ability, it can't make more than one attack per turn. If a character can make multiple attacks per turn however (eg. ...
Allan Mills's user avatar
0 votes
3 answers
331 views

In term of game balance, what repercussions should players expect if DM wouldn't count Grapple and Shove as "an attack"?

This is how Player's Handbook (p. 194) describes what counts as an attack: If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 68.1k