Linked Questions

0
votes
2answers
748 views

Does shield retroactively change the result of an attack? [duplicate]

Shield spell Casting time line says (PHB, p. 275): 1 reaction, which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell. (bold highlight by me) PHB, p. 194, 1st ...
40
votes
5answers
7k views

Can a thrown javelin be catapult-ed back?

The wizard is chased through the woods by a bandit. The bandit is 50 feet behind the wizard and continuously throws javelins at him. The wizard then readies a Catapult spell. The trigger is "after the ...
22
votes
6answers
4k views

Does a monk decide to use their reaction on the Slow Fall feature after falling damage is rolled?

At 4th level, monks get the class feature Slow Fall: Beginning at 4th level, you can use your reaction when you fall to reduce any falling damage you take by an amount equal to five times your monk ...
39
votes
5answers
6k views

Does blocking an attack with the Shield spell still trigger Armor of Agathys?

I am contemplating a Oath of Conquest Paladin / Sorcerer multiclass character, with a 1 level dip in hexblade warlock. This character will have access to the Armor of Agathys and Shield spells, which ...
29
votes
2answers
13k views

Can you cast Hellish Rebuke as a reaction to damage that reduces you to zero hit points?

Can one use a hellish rebuke as a reaction after taking damage that would knock one unconscious? A friend and I fought during one game and I hit him, so he would have lost, but used his reaction to ...
29
votes
5answers
18k views

Is it possible to interrupt spellcasting?

As this blog post suggests, there seems to be a hole in the D&D Basic rules. Maybe. The rules for readying an action state: When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right ...
26
votes
2answers
47k views

Does Absorb Elements give you resistance to damage from the triggering attack?

Absorb Elements says: Absorb Elements 1st-level abjuration Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage Range: Self Components: S ...
19
votes
2answers
41k views

Do you have to cast Shield prior to your opponent's attack roll?

The entry for Shield says that the reaction is triggered by being hit by an attack, which would tend to imply that you can wait to see if your opponent actually succeeds on their attack roll (...
24
votes
5answers
2k views

Are getting hit and taking damage simultaneous events?

I'm unsure whether getting hit and taking damage happen at the same or different times. The armor of Agathys spell is an example of when this doesn't matter as it states: If a creature hits you ...
19
votes
4answers
1k views

If a spell caster loses concentration on Greater Invisibility, and an opponent has readied a reaction, what happens first?

As an example, both the spellcaster and the opponent ("the archer") have 1 hp remaining, so whoever completes their action first will knock the opponent unconscious. The spellcaster casts Create ...
9
votes
3answers
5k views

How does the reaction timing work for Wrath of the Storm? Can it potentially prevent the damage from the triggering attack?

With attacks of opportunity, the PHB is pretty clear that your reaction occurs as an interruption to your opponent's move, just before they move beyond your reach, then they resume their turn. Fair ...
16
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a readied spell be Counterspelled after it is cast, but before the trigger occurs?

Based on this question: Can Dispel magic be used on a readied spell before the trigger occurs? Can you Counterspell a readied spell after the turn the original spell is cast as normal, but before the ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Oathbow: does the first attack count as being against your Sworn Enemy?

The Oathbow, a magic weapon from the DMG, allows you to choose a target as your Sworn Enemy: When you use this weapon to make a ranged attack, you can, as a command phrase, say, "Swift death to you ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

If a caster readies Time Stop and casts it as a reaction during another creature's turn, what happens to that creature's turn?

Imagine Tim and Charlie are in combat. Tim takes the Ready action to cast time stop, with some trigger specified that should occur on Charlie's turn. Charlie takes his turn, triggers Tim's readied ...
10
votes
3answers
849 views

Can a readied action be taken after a spell is cast, but before it deals damage?

This question evolved from discussion in the comments from another Q/A: "Can you use Shape Water on Tidal Wave?". I've become unsure about how spells with a duration of "instantaneous" work. ...

15 30 50 per page