Linked Questions

10
votes
2answers
409 views

For the Redemption paladin's Aura of the Guardian feature, can the damage the target would take be reduced before Aura of the Guardian triggers?

The Oath of Redemption Paladin subclass gets the Aura of the Guardian feature at 7th level (XGtE, p. 39; emphasis mine): [...] you can shield your allies from harm at the cost of your own health. ...
29
votes
5answers
18k views

Is it possible to interrupt spellcasting?

As this blog post suggests, there seems to be a hole in the D&D Basic rules. Maybe. The rules for readying an action state: When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right ...
18
votes
4answers
2k views

Would Shocking Grasp prevent the target from casting Absorb Elements?

If a creature uses Shocking Grasp on another creature that uses its reaction to cast Absorb Elements, will Shocking Grasp, which stops a creature from using reactions, prevent the casting of Absorb ...
13
votes
1answer
601 views

Can an enemy take a reaction if you target them with a spell while the Time Stop spell is active?

Say a character casts time stop on themselves. While the spell is active, they target another creature with a spell (thus ending the time stop). Can that targeted character make a reaction to the ...
39
votes
5answers
6k views

Does blocking an attack with the Shield spell still trigger Armor of Agathys?

I am contemplating a Oath of Conquest Paladin / Sorcerer multiclass character, with a 1 level dip in hexblade warlock. This character will have access to the Armor of Agathys and Shield spells, which ...
24
votes
5answers
2k views

Are getting hit and taking damage simultaneous events?

I'm unsure whether getting hit and taking damage happen at the same or different times. The armor of Agathys spell is an example of when this doesn't matter as it states: If a creature hits you ...
19
votes
4answers
1k views

If a spell caster loses concentration on Greater Invisibility, and an opponent has readied a reaction, what happens first?

As an example, both the spellcaster and the opponent ("the archer") have 1 hp remaining, so whoever completes their action first will knock the opponent unconscious. The spellcaster casts Create ...
40
votes
5answers
7k views

Can a thrown javelin be catapult-ed back?

The wizard is chased through the woods by a bandit. The bandit is 50 feet behind the wizard and continuously throws javelins at him. The wizard then readies a Catapult spell. The trigger is "after the ...
26
votes
2answers
48k views

Does Absorb Elements give you resistance to damage from the triggering attack?

Absorb Elements says: Absorb Elements 1st-level abjuration Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage Range: Self Components: S ...
9
votes
3answers
5k views

How does the reaction timing work for Wrath of the Storm? Can it potentially prevent the damage from the triggering attack?

With attacks of opportunity, the PHB is pretty clear that your reaction occurs as an interruption to your opponent's move, just before they move beyond your reach, then they resume their turn. Fair ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a caster interrupt another caster from casting Time Stop by readying a Time Stop of their own?

If spellcaster A readies an action to cast time stop as soon as spellcaster B casts time stop, then on spellcaster B's turn they cast time stop, what happens? Who takes extra turns first? Also, can ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

If a caster readies Time Stop and casts it as a reaction during another creature's turn, what happens to that creature's turn?

Imagine Tim and Charlie are in combat. Tim takes the Ready action to cast time stop, with some trigger specified that should occur on Charlie's turn. Charlie takes his turn, triggers Tim's readied ...
1
vote
0answers
72 views

Fire Shield and Shield interaction [duplicate]

An awakened cat with wizard levels has fire shield active, and is melee attacked by a goblin within 5 feet of it. The goblin hits the cat but exceeds the cats AC by 4 or less. Fire shield states: ...
9
votes
3answers
326 views

How do the Drunken Master monk's Drunkard's Luck feature and the Great Old One warlock's Entropic Ward feature interact?

The Way of the Drunken Master Monk gets the Drunkard's Luck feature, which states: When you make an ability check, an attack roll, or a saving throw and have disadvantage, you can spend 2 ki points ...
16
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a readied spell be Counterspelled after it is cast, but before the trigger occurs?

Based on this question: Can Dispel magic be used on a readied spell before the trigger occurs? Can you Counterspell a readied spell after the turn the original spell is cast as normal, but before the ...

15 30 50 per page