Linked Questions

174 votes
7 answers

What is the source of the "spells do only what they say they do" rules interpretation principle?

Every time somebody asks a question like "can I use X spell for doing Y" the answer is usually "no" because spell descriptions are very short in 5e, and usually they don't ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 69.6k
25 votes
4 answers

Does Dueling Fighting Style apply to thrown weapons?

PHB p. 72 (and others) Dueling When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon. PHB p.147 Thrown. If a weapon ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 212k
21 votes
5 answers

Can you throw more than one weapon per turn?

How do thrown weapons interact with the Extra Attack feature? Can you throw more than one weapon per turn? How about two-weapon fighting? Do you need the Dual-Wielder feat to throw two weapons ...
Eric's user avatar
  • 1,046
30 votes
2 answers

Can I Two-Weapon fight after Two-Handed-Weapon fighting?

Pick a class that has access to the Extra Attack feature. For my example, I'll use my standby, Fighter McFighterson. Let us say that McFighterson is 20th level, and possesses the Dual Wielder feat. ...
goodguy5's user avatar
  • 21.1k
9 votes
5 answers

Can I draw a weapon before making a bonus-action attack and get the damage bonus from the Dueling fighting style?

I've got a character with the Dueling fighting style who fights with a rapier while keeping their other hand free. They also have a dagger sheathed. The way I see it, my character can perform a ...
suzeff's user avatar
  • 705
13 votes
3 answers

Does Crossbow Expert let me fire a hand crossbow as a bonus action after using a one-handed weapon's versatile property?

The Crossbow Expert feat (PHB, pg. 165) says: When you use the Attack action and attack with a one-handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a hand crossbow you are holding. The ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.1k
23 votes
1 answer

Are you still two-weapon fighting if you've thrown one of your two weapons and are no longer holding it?

In this question we see that two-weapon fighting with darts is not possible because they are not melee weapons. Let's replace the darts in that scenario with daggers, which are valid light melee ...
LegendaryDude's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers

Could I use a greatsword and a longsword in one turn with Two-Weapon Fighting and the Dual Wielder feat?

I am a 5th level fighter with an extra attack and I have TWF and the Dual Wielder feat. In theory, could I use my first two attacks with a greatsword and then make a bonus action attack with a ...
CreatonsOfMyOwn's user avatar
13 votes
1 answer

Bladesinger Extra Attack, dual wielding and cantrips, how does it work?

I've always liked the idea of playing a wizard that has some combat skills and high dexterity (but mainly wizard). That being said, I started a wizard with the Bladesinger sub-class that is currently ...
Monkey's user avatar
  • 133
11 votes
1 answer

Can you benefit from the Dueling fighting style for one weapon, then draw a second weapon as part of Extra Attack to qualify for Two-Weapon Fighting?

Say a Champion fighter has the "Two-Weapon Fighting" fighting style and the "Dual Wielder" feat. At 10th level, they pick up "Dueling" (+2 to damage rolls when wielding a ...
Clement Kure Ong's user avatar
7 votes
4 answers

With Extra Attack, can I grapple an opponent and attack with offhand dagger?

I attack an enemy using a dagger with my right hand, drop it, then grapple the enemy using my right hand (Extra Attack). Using the Two-Weapon Fighting rule: When you take the Attack action and ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.7k
9 votes
1 answer

Can you benefit from the Dueling fighting style after having thrown a light weapon?

So, the PHB has this to say about unsheathing a weapon (page 190) You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example [......
GreenHat's user avatar
  • 534
0 votes
1 answer

Drawing and firing a hand crossbow whilst wielding a rapier in one hand (Fighter/Duelist/Crossbow expert) [closed]

I'm currently making a Level 4 character for a new campaign we'll be entering. I've decided on a variant human dex based fighter. Fighting style: duelist Level 1 feat: defensive duelist Level 4 ...
James's user avatar
  • 17
3 votes
0 answers

Does the attack with a light melee weapon required for Two-Weapon Fighting have to be part of TWF's required Attack Action? [duplicate]

Two-Weapon Fighting states: "When you take the attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.4k