Linked Questions

34
votes
9answers
123k views

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the bonus action heading it states: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This seems to state that if ...
32
votes
4answers
22k views

Do you get to use the extra attack as well when you ready an attack action?

One of my players, a monk, decided to ready an action as an earth elemental was about to attack. The trigger was the elemental moving within five feet of him. When this occurred he took his attack ...
17
votes
2answers
110k views

How does the Ready action work?

So from reading the Player's Handbook, it seems that the Ready action is taken instead of any other action as it is an action in its own right. However, can you move on the same turn that you ready an ...
15
votes
3answers
15k views

Can a creature with multiattack make more than one attack as part of a readied attack?

I had a group of Bullywugs ambush the party when they were fighting a giant frog in a clearing in a swamp. The bullywugs were hidden in reeds and sedges around the clearing and they had all readied an ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Can reaction spells be used as an action?

I was wondering if spells like Shield wizard spell could be used as an action instead of as a reaction in response to some trigger? Shield spell gives protection until the start of casters next turn, ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

If you misty step 30 feet straight up do you have time to attack a foe next to you before you start falling?

On your turn, you misty step 30 feet straight up. Can you make an attack before you start falling, or will you immediately begin to fall? For example, a player wants to reach a flying enemy to knock ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Do you get all your attacks if you ready an Attack Action? [duplicate]

Say I have a fighter who has three attacks and uses ready action/hold action to "Attack the next person to come through that door". If someone comes through the door, does he get his reaction to get ...
13
votes
3answers
1k views

How specific does the Action for Ready need to be?

Starting with the rules for the Ready action: Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn, ...
3
votes
1answer
9k views

Can a caster Counterspell a Counterspell against a non-cantrip spell they cast? [duplicate]

If caster A (for example a wizard) casts a spell on their turn, and it is Counterspelled by another caster B, can the original caster Counterspell the first Counterspell? I am assuming that it is ...
10
votes
2answers
183 views

Can I use Two-Weapon Fighting on my mount's turn?

Can I use the Ready action on my turn to specify that I will make a melee attack once in range of an enemy, use my mount to get to the enemy, attack the enemy with one melee weapon, and then also ...