Linked Questions

32
votes
5answers
41k views

Is language tied to statistics, ability scores, and/or skill proficiencies according to the rules?

While reading this answer to whether or not a druid knows the languages of his/her chosen form, I began to wonder, "What is a language exactly?" Please allow me to walk you through my thought process. ...
27
votes
5answers
2k views

Does Polymorph break attunements with prerequisites?

Some magic items have prerequisites for attunement, most commonly requiring a specific race, class, or alignment. According to the rules on attunement: A creature's attunement to an item ends if the ...
16
votes
4answers
3k views

What is Strahd von Zarovich's weight in bat form?

This question concerns D&D 5e. The relevant ability, with my emphasis, is as follows: While in bat or wolf form, Strahd can't speak. In bat form, his walking speed is 5 feet, and he has a flying ...
26
votes
4answers
4k views

Does the True Polymorph spell form a creature with equipment?

When a spellcaster transforms an object or creature into a creature using the True Polymorph spell, does that creature form with equipment? Example: if a spellcaster used True Polymorph to ...
28
votes
4answers
5k views

What values do I recalculate when I Wild Shape?

When I Wild Shape, I take a beast's STR, DEX, and CON scores. I keep my proficiency bonus and my INT, WIS, and CHA scores. I will focus this question on the assumption I'm proficient in Athletics, and ...
15
votes
5answers
5k views

Can a naked Changeling use its Shapechanger feature to duplicate the appearance of clothing?

Can a naked Changeling use its Shapechanger feature to duplicate the appearance of clothing or equipment, similarly to Mystique from the X-Men? As an action, you can change your appearance and your ...
24
votes
1answer
16k views

True Polymorph: can a player use legendary actions of its new form?

True Polymorph PHB 283: Creature into Creature. (...) the new form can be any kind you choose. The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of its new ...
19
votes
3answers
8k views

Do I need to feed a mount summoned by the Find Steed spell?

The description of the find steed spell reads: You summon a spirit that assumes the form of an unusually intelligent, strong, and loyal steed, creating a long-lasting bond with it. Appearing in an ...
3
votes
2answers
11k views

How can the Great Old One Warlock's Create Thrall feature be countered?

The Great Old One warlock patron's Create Thrall feature (PHB, page 110) says: At 14th level, you gain the ability to infect a humanoid’s mind with the alien magic of your patron. You can use your ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Do familiars reproduce? If 'yes', what kinds of offspring result?

The spell Find Familiar summons a simple yet common creature of the caster's choice (like a cat, rat, raven or weasel). Such a creature's organs all function healthfully, including eating and sleeping....
11
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a polymorphed creature understand languages spoken under the effect of Tongues?

Let's say we have a spy that has been True Polymorphed into a sheep (to blend in, obviously). The spy originally knew Common + some other languages. As a sheep, though, she can only bleat. True ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you use a beast's innate abilities while polymorphed?

I'm just getting access to the Polymorph spell this level, and I'm curious about beasts with innate capabilities. Swarm of Cranium Rats (CR5) are probably the strongest example: Innate Spellcasting ...
8
votes
3answers
433 views

If a creature polymorphs into something, is it then that thing?

A number of creatures have the Shapechanger trait with some variation of the phrasing: Shapechanger. The [creature] can use its action to polymorph into [output] or back into its true form. Its ...
7
votes
1answer
4k views

Can I benefit from a feat effect while polymorphed?

If I have polymorphed into a creature can I use the effects of my feats? For example: If I have Alert do I still get a plus 5 to initiative? If I have the Grappler feat can I still pin a creature ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

When True Polymorphed and making concentration saves, what stats do I use?

If I true polymorph myself, when I make a concentration save, should I use my character's or monster's statistics? And if I have relevant feats can I use them?

15 30 50 per page