Linked Questions

15 votes
3 answers
8k views

Can you voluntarily drop prone if it is not your turn?

When looking through the combat rules I realized under Being Prone it states: You can drop prone without using any of your speed. There doesn't seem to be a reference that this needs to be on your ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.4k
13 votes
1 answer
10k views

Can you end your own spell prematurely?

Can you end your own spell prematurely? My question is about spells in general, but in case an example is needed: Let’s say a ranger casts spike growth (up to 10 minutes), then realizes it is useless ...
Amethyst Wizard's user avatar
13 votes
3 answers
2k views

When can you do things that do not require an action?

There are a number of things you can do that do not require an action. These include: Concentration: You can end concentration at any time (no action required). Countercharm The performance ...
user-781943's user avatar
  • 21.8k
11 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can you drop a weapon/item when it is not your turn?

Thought of while contemplating this question on whether you can drop prone off your turn, I am wondering if you can drop a weapon/item. This Q/A claims that dropping a weapon is a free action, but I ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.4k
7 votes
2 answers
711 views

When can "at any time" actions be performed?

Several mechanics use the terminology "at any time", but it isn't clear what exactly that means. Concentration You can end concentration at any time (no action required). Alter Self At any ...
user-781943's user avatar
  • 21.8k
6 votes
2 answers
3k views

What is the point of the throwing mechanic in Delayed Blast Fireball?

Delayed Blast Fireball has a unique clause about physically grabbing and throwing the spell itself: If the glowing bead is touched before the interval has expired, the creature touching it must ...
Nicbobo's user avatar
  • 6,678
5 votes
1 answer
721 views

Do creatures that fall from the removal of a stone bridge created by a wall of stone spell get a save?

Wall of stone Says: The wall can have any shape you desire, though it can't occupy the same space as a creature or object. The wall doesn't need to be vertical or rest on any firm foundation. It must,...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
595 views

Does a party get a full round of readied actions after an enemy comes back from banishment spell?

So our party has a dragon banished. Our plan is to drop the banishment spell right after the dragon's turn in initiative. Can the whole party get a whole round of readied attacks and/or advantage and ...
Dnd junkie's user avatar
  • 3,131
2 votes
6 answers
655 views

When summoned creatures are "defending themselves from hostile creatures" on a turn without commands, does this include taking Actions of any type?

The descriptions of many "Conjure ..." spells (e.g. Conjure Animals pp.225 PHB) contains text like this: If you don't issue any commands to them, they defend themselves from hostile ...
Kronecker's user avatar
  • 173
2 votes
0 answers
73 views

Can a caster end the spell Delayed Blast Fireball immediately after the turn they cast it? [duplicate]

The spell Delayed Blast Fireball states: A beam of yellow light flashes from your pointing finger, then condenses to linger at a chosen point within range as a glowing bead for the duration. When the ...
RallozarX's user avatar
  • 5,607
2 votes
0 answers
65 views

Can you end concentration on a spell during someone else's turn? [duplicate]

Say for example, my group is fighting a group of archers. Bard casts Darkness. We determine that the archers can see through the darkness, as they are hitting each of their shots. Can the bard end ...
NeutralTax's user avatar
  • 3,070
2 votes
1 answer
210 views

Can you drop concentration on Delayed Blast Fireball as Dispel Magic is being cast on it? [duplicate]

Assume you cast Delayed Blast Fireball, another creature then casts Dispel Magic on it. Would you be able to end your concentration--causing it to explode--as it is being dispelled? If so, do you do ...
AnotherAnonymous's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
422 views

Can I drop concentration on a damaging spell before it affects an ally in combat? [duplicate]

If on my turn I cast a damage spell that requires concentration, can I keep it up on subsequent enemy turns then drop it before it damages an ally at the start of their turn? For example, this is ...
BradenA8's user avatar
  • 2,824