Linked Questions

173 votes
7 answers
27k views

What is the source of the "spells do only what they say they do" rules interpretation principle?

Every time somebody asks a question like "can I use X spell for doing Y" the answer is usually "no" because spell descriptions are very short in 5e, and usually they don't ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 68.3k
74 votes
13 answers
69k views

What happens when you run out of movement while jumping?

According to the PHB (p 182) after a 10 foot movement the player is able to make a long jump whose length is equal to their strength score. Each foot jumped costs 1 foot of movement. I have a ...
briddums's user avatar
  • 10.8k
78 votes
10 answers
254k views

When do I use active vs passive perception?

So, I'm trying to figure out how to run the scene from the beginning of Lost Mine of Phandelver (5e starter set) where the party is ambushed by goblins and I'm really confused as to how Passive Wisdom ...
ctsag's user avatar
  • 883
94 votes
5 answers
142k views

Is the Moonbeam spell amazing, or are we doing it wrong?

The description of the moonbeam spell (PHB pg. 261) says: When a creature enters the spell's area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it is engulfed in ghostly flames that cause ...
Taejang's user avatar
  • 5,213
98 votes
5 answers
202k views

Do Cantrips use your character level or class level?

Cantrips seem to be the only type of spell that cares only about your class level. However, in the multiclassing section they are not mentioned, does this mean that cantrips use your character level, ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.3k
59 votes
10 answers
128k views

Can a zero-HP, unconscious and stable character be woken up prematurely?

Whenever you drop to 0 hp you become unconscious (and are dying). If you manage to stabilize you will wake up in 1d4 hrs with 1 hp. We had a situation where an unconscious character was stablized, ...
Argamae's user avatar
  • 783
49 votes
8 answers
34k views

Does every magic rod, wand, crystal, orb, and staff count as an arcane focus?

The various magic rods, wands, staves, etc. in the DMG all have certain abilities. But do they also count as arcane foci for the purpose of not needing material components for all your other spells?
SevenSidedDie's user avatar
63 votes
7 answers
15k views

How can I handle a player who pre-plans arguments about my rulings on RAW?

When playing D&D, I have always taken the following approach: I will do my best to adhere to Rules As Written (RAW) If I don't know a rule off the top of my head I will look it up If something I ...
SaggingRufus's user avatar
  • 4,313
44 votes
11 answers
19k views

What happens if I'm invisible and something I'm wearing has the Light cantrip cast on it?

The bard in my group cast the light spell on an amulet he was wearing. Then after triggering a trap, he cast invisibility on himself. What happens in this situation? The amulet is now invisible but ...
user21214's user avatar
  • 651
55 votes
8 answers
124k views

Can spells be cast through a Wall of Force?

The spell description of wall of force is silent on the question of whether spell effects can pass through the wall. The semi-relevant part of the description states: Nothing can physically pass ...
PurpleVermont's user avatar
86 votes
4 answers
90k views

Do you have to have thieves' tools in order to pick a lock?

Does a character have to have thieves' tools (TT) in order to pick a lock? Not necessarily proficiency in the tool, but at least have the tool itself? I'm confused about picking locks and whether or ...
Jason K's user avatar
  • 5,295
93 votes
2 answers
19k views

Why do Crawford's tweets seem to be treated on par with the actual rules?

I keep running into quoted tweets from this 'Jeremy Crawford' guy in 5e answers. My understanding is he's sort of in charge of the edition, like James Jacobs with Pathfinder. It makes sense that his ...
Please stop being evil's user avatar
71 votes
2 answers
108k views

Does Bard's Jack of All Trades grant them greater initiative?

Bards get the ability "Jack of All Trades" which reads: Starting at 2nd level, you can add half your proficiency bonus, rounded down, to any ability check you make that doesn't already include ...
GMNoob's user avatar
  • 32.9k
33 votes
8 answers
18k views

Can a dragon's breath weapon pass through Leomund's Tiny Hut?

Leomund's tiny hut can protect against magic, objects, and creatures from entering. A dragon's breath weapon is not considered magical, but has to be an object at least - which should be blocked by ...
ConfusedDM's user avatar
45 votes
6 answers
34k views

Can a Lore bard's Cutting Words feature cancel a critical hit?

The Lore bard's Cutting Words feature says (PHB, p. 54; emphasis mine): When a creature that you can see within 60 feet of you makes an attack roll, [...] you can use your reaction to expend one of ...
Meta4ic's user avatar
  • 5,370

15 30 50 per page
1
2 3 4 5
10