Linked Questions

20 votes
2 answers
22k views

Can you cast a 9th level spell if your multiclass spell slots have 9th level spell slots? [duplicate]

Say I play a Cleric 14/Paladin 6. I have the spell slots of a lvl 17 spellcaster, but can I cast the 9th level spells of the Cleric, or am I limited to 7th? Would this also work with other classes ...
user avatar
15 votes
2 answers
8k views

How do my spells work when multi-classing Ranger and Druid? [duplicate]

I've been reading through posts online and the multi-classing rules over the last couple of hours. And good lord, either I'm an idiot (highly likely) or this stuff is tough. Anyway: In a campaign I'm ...
user avatar
  • 153
13 votes
2 answers
25k views

Arcane Trickster Multiclass - Spell Preparation [duplicate]

I'm making level 5 character, Rogue 3 (Arcane Trickster) Wiz 2 (Conjuration). I can't find anything in the handbook explaining how (if?) the Arcane Trickster needs to prepare his spells in any way. ...
user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
28k views

Cantrips for each multi-class class? [duplicate]

Would a Cleric 1 / Wizard 1 multi-classed character know 3 cleric cantrips and 3 wizard cantrips?
user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
3k views

How does learning spells work when leveling a multiclass character? [duplicate]

I have a Bard 4/Sorcerer 1 that is going to continue levelling in the bard class. When he reaches Bard 5/Sorcerer 1 and he learns his first 3rd level spell, can he take from the sorcerer list or just ...
user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
6k views

As a Bard multi-classing into Warlock, what spells do I get? [duplicate]

My character is a bard and I'm planning on taking a level in Warlock. Do I get the 2 cantrips and 2 spells from the Warlock spell list that a new Warlock character would get in addition to the Bard ...
user avatar
  • 424
5 votes
3 answers
2k views

How many spells does my Bard 6/Wizard 1 know? [duplicate]

This is my first time multiclassing a character. I wanted to multiclass my bard with something, and I wanted to make sure I have the rules for multiclassing correct - because with my understanding, ...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
9k views

When multiclassing a Cleric/Wizard, can I prepare wizard spells from the cleric list that the wiz could learn but didn't? [duplicate]

As a concrete example, let's say I have a multiclassed Cleric and Wizard (Theurgy), meaning that a common spell they could both have is Cure Wounds, but let's say that I didn't have the wizard learn ...
user avatar
  • 1,026
3 votes
1 answer
4k views

Land Druid/Cleric Multiclass interaction with spells [duplicate]

I have a Cleric 1/Druid X character and I want to make sure I'm using the multiclass rules for their spells correctly. As I've been leveling up, I've been preparing higher level cleric spells, even ...
user avatar
  • 33
4 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can multiclass druids prepare & cast Druid spells of any level that they have a spell slot for? [duplicate]

Question involving RAW. Basic question: does a multiclass druid know, and are they able to prepare and cast, any spell on the Druid spell list for which they have a spell slot? For instance, would a ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
7k views

When Multi-classing Paladin with Sorcerer, could I Prepare Paladin Spells at my Sorcerer Spell Level (5th level spells max)? [duplicate]

I've been playing a level 9 Stone Sorcerer, and I was about to multiclass 2 levels into paladin when I saw that when you prepare your paladin spells, you prepare spells that fit with the level of ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

RAW can a Eldritch Knight 9/Wizard 2 multiclass cast/learn 3rd level spells? [duplicate]

Title is the main question, loosely an extension of a previous question I'd asked about Eldritch Knight/Wizard multiclass and their access to spells. Note: I'm NOT asking if the proposed character of ...
user avatar
  • 399
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does my multiclassed Eldritch Knight fighter/War wizard now have to prepare his spells as an Eldritch Knight? [duplicate]

I am building an Eldritch Knight fighter/War wizard multiclass character for D&D 5e. The eldritch knight has a limited pool of spells known, but does not have to prepare them; the wizard, on the ...
user avatar
-4 votes
1 answer
1k views

5e multi-classing with a wizard level 1 and a druid level 1 [duplicate]

I just got to level 2 and I'm a Wizard. I decided to multiclass right away instead of leveling my Wizard to level 2 because I couldn't decide which school of magic to choose. My questions are: How ...
user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
2k views

At level up, can a sorcerer learn spells of a level granted by slots he has from any class? [duplicate]

The sorcerer's spells known feature says: You know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the sorcerer spell list. The Spells Known column of Table: The Sorcerer shows when you learn more ...
user avatar

15 30 50 per page