Linked Questions

2
votes
1answer
155 views

Does Voice of Authority work with harmful spell? [duplicate]

Voice of Authority from Order Domain cleric states that If you cast a spell with a spell slot of 1st level or higher and target an ally with the spell, that ally can use their reaction immediately ...
24
votes
5answers
5k views

Does casting Invisibility in a 2nd level slot targeting a mount make the rider invisible too?

The invisibility spell description says (emphasis mine): A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

Does the Scrying spell require you to have a clear path to the target in order to work?

The section "A Clear Path to the Target", on page 205 of the PHB states "To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can’t be behind total cover." The description of the Scrying ...
22
votes
4answers
3k views

Can "Friends" be used to make any creature in the universe hostile?

Friends is a cantrip with a range of self that reads (PHB, p. 244): For the duration, you have advantage on all Charisma checks directed at one creature of your choice that isn’t hostile toward you....
14
votes
5answers
11k views

War caster feat and green flame blade, is it legit?

The War Caster feat allows a single-target spell ("must target only that creature") to be cast instead of a melee strike for an opportunity attack. Green-Flame Blade appears to have a single target, ...
24
votes
2answers
6k views

What happens when I Twin Life Transference?

The Life Transference spell states: You sacrifice some of your health to mend another creature’s injuries. You take 4d8 necrotic damage, and one creature of your choice that you can see within ...
20
votes
2answers
19k views

Does the Wall of Force spell block teleportation?

Does the Wall of Force spell in 5e block teleportation? This does not seem to be addressed in the 5e spell description.
13
votes
4answers
11k views

Do spells with a range of "Self" target the caster?

New to D&D, and thought about creating a Beast Master. I was wondering if spells with a range of "Self" would count you as the "target" of the spell. There's some debate in my group, as unlike ...
11
votes
6answers
1k views

What does the Find Familiar spell target?

Directly pulling from this Q/A about who controls a summoned steed's familiar, I am wondering what the find familiar spell targets. Does the find familiar spell target the caster, a point in space, ...
18
votes
2answers
2k views

What is the difference between a spell with a range of "Self" and a spell with a range of "Self (XYZ)"?

There are a number of spells with a range of "Self", and a number of spells with a range of "Self (XYZ)" where XYZ is some modifier. Is the range of Self consistent between these ...
25
votes
1answer
3k views

Can high level Eldritch blast be used with War Caster?

The final test of the Warcaster Feat is the following The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only one creature. (PHB 170) The question I have is whether a spell like Eldritch ...
8
votes
5answers
2k views

Is it possible to target 2 allies with the Warding Bond spell using the Sorcerer's Twinned Spell metamagic option?

Is it possible to target 2 allies with the Warding Bond spell using the Sorcerer's Twinned Spell metamagic option?
10
votes
2answers
719 views

Can an NPC use the Teleport spell to affect an object they can see with the Scrying spell?

Teleport shows that it has a range of 10 feet and uses the following language: This spell instantly transports you and up to eight willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range, ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Is this combination of a pre-cast Shadow Blade with a Quickened Green-Flame Blade and then a Twinned (action) Green-Flame Blade legal?

Let's say I am a level 5 sorcerer and I have already cast shadow blade. And I want to do the following on my next turn: Quicken green-flame blade for 2d8 (from shadow blade) + 1d8 (GFB dmg) on the ...
10
votes
3answers
4k views

Do worn or carried objects count as additional targets for a spell if they are also affected by the spell?

The Jeremy Crawford tweet that @Psyntax referenced here has gotten me wondering what exacty constitutes a target of a spell. The PH states: A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets ...

15 30 50 per page