Linked Questions

49 votes
5 answers

When exactly can a caster stop concentrating on a spell?

From the Basic Rules section on Concentration: Some spells require you to maintain concentration in order to keep their magic active. If you lose concentration, such a spell ends. If a spell must be ...
33 votes
4 answers

Is dropping a weapon "free", in terms of action cost?

I've seen many people on StackExchange and other forums mention that you can drop something as a free action, but I've never seen it sourced, or come across support for it in the Player's Handbook. ...
41 votes
7 answers

Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon?

I have a halfling cleric of Bahamut who wears his holy symbol as an amulet around his neck as a spellcasting focus (so material components are not an issue). However, as per this question, this does ...
25 votes
8 answers

Can a character drop a weapon in order to cast a spell that is a reaction?

Suppose a Fighter/Wizard without the War Caster feat is wielding a sword and shield. If she is hit and wants to cast the Shield spell as a reaction (it has a somatic component), can she drop her ...
8 votes
2 answers

RAW, can a 3rd level sword-and-board eldritch knight usefully cast Absorb Elements?

I often see Absorb Elements (AE) mentioned as a useful spell for an Eldritch Knight (EK), because it gives you temporary resistance to one type of damage and lets you add that type of damage to your ...
9 votes
3 answers

How does the secondary effect of the Heat Metal spell work?

The heat metal spell description states: If a creature is holding or wearing the object and takes the damage from it, the creature must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or drop the object if it ...
13 votes
3 answers

When can you do things that do not require an action?

There are a number of things you can do that do not require an action. These include: Concentration: You can end concentration at any time (no action required). Countercharm The performance ...
15 votes
3 answers

Can you voluntarily drop prone if it is not your turn?

When looking through the combat rules I realized under Being Prone it states: You can drop prone without using any of your speed. There doesn't seem to be a reference that this needs to be on your ...
93 votes
7 answers

Can you choose to fail a saving throw?

(Yet another) follow-up from this question: As someone mentioned in the question above, some 'friendly' spells (Calm Emotion, IIRC) specify that one can choose to fail the saving throw. In this case,...
30 votes
2 answers

Can I Two-Weapon fight after Two-Handed-Weapon fighting?

Pick a class that has access to the Extra Attack feature. For my example, I'll use my standby, Fighter McFighterson. Let us say that McFighterson is 20th level, and possesses the Dual Wielder feat. ...
14 votes
4 answers

Do you get your free interaction during a readied action?

Example situation: You're on the other side of a door. You have a spell slot available for Magic Missiles. Can you ready an action to, on the Rogue's signal, open the door and cast Magic Missiles at ...
28 votes
1 answer

Are you considered to have a free hand while using a Versatile weapon?

Certain abilities require a free hand to perform: picking up an item or drawing a weapon, casting a spell with a somatic component, using Gloves of Missile Snaring, etc. If you make a two-handed ...
38 votes
3 answers

Can I say something to an ally when it's not my turn and we are both in combat?

For instance I want to suggest a spell or a generic action to an ally because my PC has a better view of the battlefield. Can I do that or I must wait my turn?