Linked Questions

0
votes
0answers
37 views

What happens when an attack with a raider drops a hero to 0 hp? [duplicate]

So, imagine you are hit by a monster and dropped down to 0 hp. But then the same attack also requires you to make a Constitution save or take extra damage. Is this attack treated as a single damage ...
28
votes
5answers
3k views

How do you handle simultaneous damage when one type is absorbed and not the other?

Say a wizard sees something a group of large figures lumbering towards him/her. The wizard is overly paranoid about being outnumbered so they drop a Meteor Swarm spell on them. However, it turns out ...
41
votes
3answers
3k views

Does a concentrating caster damaged by Ice Knife require two concentration checks?

As the ice knife spell can do damage in two separate ways, with one defined to happen after the other, would a caster damaged by both need to make multiple concentration checks?
24
votes
5answers
2k views

Are getting hit and taking damage simultaneous events?

I'm unsure whether getting hit and taking damage happen at the same or different times. The armor of Agathys spell is an example of when this doesn't matter as it states: If a creature hits you ...
17
votes
2answers
5k views

Does Uncanny Dodge halve poison damage?

Related: Can you use Uncanny Dodge against extra damage effects? In the cited question, the consensus is that Uncanny Dodge halves all damage from an attack including damage inflicted by elemental ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

How do I handle attacks with multiple damage types on an unconscious player?

Here's the situation: The party rogue comes up against a rather nasty enemy (homebrew) that does 1d8 bludgeoning damage and 1d8 psychic damage on a melee attack. The bludgeoning damage drops her to 0 ...
7
votes
1answer
82k views

What happens when a PC is attacked while unconscious in 5e?

Let's say that a character receives a 2-hit multiattack: The first hit reduces the character to 0 HP. Then the monster targets the fallen character with the second hit. Is the accuracy or likelihood ...
15
votes
1answer
3k views

How do Death Saves interact with Actions that have multiple Attacks?

Inspired by the efforts to kill a Vampire, the GM in me got in a fight with the engineer. Per the text from Death Saves, taking damage while you have 0 hit points will cause a death saving throw ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Is damage from multiple damage types cumulative for death and massive damage?

Scenario 1: A grimlock hits Alice with a Spiked Bone Club, dealing 5 bludgeoning damage, plus 2 piercing damage. Alice's HP was 12. Using the optional Massive Damage rules on page 273 of the DMG, ...
11
votes
1answer
854 views

Does the Assassin rogue’s Death Strike feature double the damage from a poison that requires a saving throw?

Let’s say you coat your weapon with poison transmitted by injury from the DMG. As we know, the damage from these poisons are not tied to the attack roll but to a Con save, so the damage dice are not ...
4
votes
1answer
180 views

How does additional damage work with the Hand Mortar's explosive property?

So I am building a gunslinger, and see a possible very high risk, but very high reward tactic for large groups. Say I have a hand mortar, and fire it into a creature surrounded by at least 2 others. ...
4
votes
2answers
251 views

Does the Psi Warrior's Psionic Strike ability prompt a second Concentration save?

The new Psi Warrior Fighter subclass has the feature Psionic Power which has the following option: Psionic Strike. You can propel your weapons with psionic force. Once on each of your turns, ...
2
votes
0answers
37 views

How does the Fighter's Interception style work against attacks with multiple damage types? [duplicate]

The Fighter's Interception fighting style reads: When a creature you can see hits a target, other than you, within 5 feet of you with an attack, you can use your reaction to reduce the damage the ...