Linked Questions

5 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does the Dragon's Wrath Slumbering quality include the target? [duplicate]

I have a question about the newly released Dragon's Wrath Generic weapon variant in Fizban's Treasury of Dragons, that includes this specific line of text Whenever you roll a 20 on your attack roll ...
ImJuggSkrub's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
29 views

Can the Warforged Soldier reaction "Protection" be used for an attack targeting him? [duplicate]

The Protection reaction on the Warforged Soldier Statblock states: Protection. When an attacker the warforged can see makes an attack roll against a creature within 5 feet of the warforged, the ...
JWhitewolfS's user avatar
30 votes
1 answer
17k views

Can a character cast Bless on themselves?

Last night during a game session, one of the players cast Bless, and requested to target himself as well as 2 party members. On review of the PHB for spell casting and ranges, it was not specified if ...
GOATNine's user avatar
  • 709
15 votes
3 answers
7k views

Does the target of Lightning Arrow take the secondary damage too?

Lightning Arrow: The target takes 4d8 lightning damage on a hit, or half as much damage on a miss, instead of the weapon’s normal damage. Whether you hit or miss, each creature within 10 feet of the ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.6k
0 votes
2 answers
2k views

Do features that let you see things within your "line of sight" let you see invisible creatures and objects?

The 2020 Sage Advice Compendium has the following question & answer: The frightened condition says “while the source of its fear is within line of sight.” Does that mean you have dis-advantage on ...
Payden K. Pringle's user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
7k views

Can the Glamour bard's Mantle of Inspiration feature target the bard themself?

The College of Glamour bard's Mantle of Inspiration feature reads as follows (XGtE, p. 14; emphasis mine): As a bonus action, you can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to grant yourself a ...
Smart_TJ's user avatar
  • 6,512
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

Does a UA Dhampir Cleric Turn Itself? What does that look like?

Dhampir have two types tags in the new Unearth Arcana, they are both humanoid and undead. There is even a nice rules reminder in D&D Beyond that points out: If an effect works on at least one of ...
J. A. Streich's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

How does additional damage work with the Hand Mortar's explosive property?

So I am building a gunslinger, and see a possible very high risk, but very high reward tactic for large groups. Say I have a hand mortar, and fire it into a creature surrounded by at least 2 others. ...
Flotolk's user avatar
  • 2,272
0 votes
2 answers
199 views

If I'm a fairy cleric, can I cast Detect Evil and Good, and if I can, would I have disadvantage on the roll to see if it detects successfully?

I'm playing a fairy cleric. My thought process is that I am a fey, so if I cast detect evil and good, it would detect me as well. I was wondering if this would prevent me from using the spell, or if ...
Tasi's user avatar
  • 1,665
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does Arms of Hadar hit the caster?

The text is unclear to me. Tendrils of dark energy erupt from you and batter all creatures within 10 feet of you. I assume I'm a creature within 10 feet of me, so am I also a target of this spell? ...
Nathan Hinchey's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
205 views

Can a Gnoll Pack Lord target itself for Incite Rampage?

Incite Rampage (Recharge 5–6). One creature the gnoll can see within 30 feet of it can use its reaction to make a melee attack if it can hear the gnoll and has the Rampage trait. A Gnoll pack lord ...
TheMonkeFist's user avatar