Linked Questions

33
votes
5answers
92k views

Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon?

I have a halfling cleric of Bahamut who wears his holy symbol as an amulet around his neck as a spellcasting focus (so material components are not an issue). However, as per this question, this does ...
28
votes
2answers
21k views

Is dropping a weapon “free”, in terms of action cost?

I've seen many people on StackExchange and other forums mention that you can drop something as a free action, but I've never seen it sourced, or come across support for it in the Player's Handbook. ...
26
votes
2answers
4k views

Can you drop one hand from a two-handed weapon to draw and use a single-handed weapon next turn?

A situation came up in our last session of D&D 5e where another character wanted to use a single-handed weapon after using a two handed weapon attack. She made the attack with a two handed ...
25
votes
3answers
5k views

Holding a longbow (or other 2H weapon) and attacking with a shortsword (or other 1H weapon)?

I have a question about how the rules handle holding a two-handed weapon and then drawing and attacking with a one-handed weapon. You are able to drop a weapon (or in the case of a two-handed weapon, ...
15
votes
3answers
10k views

What action is it to switch between holding a weapon two-handed, and then wielding it one-handed

I'm planning on building a Gish for the next game I play in, and I was wondering how to best plan the build. I want power attack so I can do damage in combat, and I want to wield the weapon two-...
28
votes
1answer
8k views

Are you considered to have a free hand while using a Versatile weapon?

Certain abilities require a free hand to perform: picking up an item or drawing a weapon, casting a spell with a somatic component, using Gloves of Missile Snaring, etc. If you make a two-handed ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat?

Can Bladesingers combine: Bladesong + Double-Bladed Scimitar + Revenant Blade feat? I won't detail it heavily, but can an Elf and/or Half-Elf Wizard (Bladesinger) combine all these for enhanced ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

Action economies, two-handed weapons, and spells with Somatic components

This is a follow-on to Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon? So, I have a spell, say Sanctuary, that is cast as a bonus action, yet requires Verbal ...
9
votes
1answer
458 views

Using Extra Attack feature with two-handed weapon and additional thrown weapon

As the title states, I have a question about how the rules handle using the Extra Attack class feature to make two separate attacks with a two-handed weapon and a thrown weapon. PHB Errata. Two-...
6
votes
1answer
870 views

Does Improved Pact Weapon allow casting a spell with somatic and material components using a Heavy-crossbow as the focus?

As stated in the title, I've read about casting spells with somatic component with two-handed weapons here. The thing is that the Xanathar's warlock invocation [Improved Pact Weapon] says that you can ...