Linked Questions

62 votes
5 answers

Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell?

This question is updated to request additional answers and details in light of information now available in the Dungeon Master's Guide. In the released DM basic rules, Lost Mine of Phandelver, Hoard ...
Orvir's user avatar
  • 5,906
54 votes
5 answers

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots?

Can you cast a spell learned from the Magic Initiate feat using spell slots? Say I play a wizard who learns cure wounds by taking the Magic Initiate feat. Could I cast that spell using the Wizard's ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
27 votes
5 answers

If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot, can you cast that spell using a spell slot?

A 10th level Drow warlock (for instance) has the following Drow Magic racial trait (PHB p. 24), in addition to its warlock spellcasting abilities: You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach ...
Protonflux's user avatar
  • 13.5k
21 votes
7 answers

What makes a spell being cast considered to be a {class} spell?

My understanding is that when a spell is known or prepared via one of your class features, or if you cast it via a class feature, it's considered a "class spell" (sorcerer spell, cleric spell, etc.) ...
CTWind's user avatar
  • 19.1k
12 votes
4 answers

Can I use my best spellcasting ability for Eldritch Adept?

Suppose I am a multiclass character that has "Spellcasting" from multiple sources and I take the Eldritch Adept (Tasha, p.79) feat. Can I then use my best Spell Save DC for spells that that ...
svenema's user avatar
  • 2,309
27 votes
2 answers

Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell using the Spellcasting feature?

This question got me thinking about the mechanics of the Magic Initiate feat when you have class levels in the class into which you were inducted. Among the classes you can pick with this feat are ...
GoblinTheodicy's user avatar
13 votes
4 answers

Are spells learned from feats considered to be associated with your class?

The multiclassing spellcasting rules (PHB p. 164, or here in the basic rules) state: Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 93.2k
12 votes
2 answers

Does the "Cantrip Formulas" optional Wizard feature allow a racial cantrip to be swapped for another?

The Tasha's Cauldron of Everything optional level 3 Wizard feature Cantrip Formulas does the following: You have scribed a set of arcane formulas in your spellbook that you can use to formulate a ...
Guillaume F.'s user avatar
  • 9,507
20 votes
2 answers

Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?

I have a high-elf wizard with the Fey Teleportation feat. According to the feat "You learn the Misty Step spell, and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast it ...
Raukus's user avatar
  • 203
9 votes
2 answers

Does Magic Initiate allow the chosen spell to effectively be "always prepared" if the spell is on their spell list?

The Magic Initiate feat allows you to pick a 1st level spell, which you can cast once per long rest. From the PHB (p. 168): Choose a class: bard, cleric, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 77.9k
14 votes
2 answers

Can the artificer's spell-storing item store their specialist spells?

The artificer's "Spell-Storing Item" feature says: ... you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires one action to cast... [TCOE pg....
gto's user avatar
  • 4,854
6 votes
2 answers

Can spells from the Magic Initiate feat be swapped out for different ones?

For example, a character takes the Magic Initiate feat at level 4, picking spells from the Wizard spell list, because they have been researching and learning all they can about magic (such as a ...
Newbie12345's user avatar
  • 1,715
11 votes
2 answers

For Ring of Spell Storing, when does Wild Magic Surge trigger?

If a Wild Magic Sorcerer stores a spell in the Ring of Spell Storing, when can the DM ask for that player to roll a d20 to determine if a Wild Magic Surge triggers? Is it at the first casting of the ...
user avatar
14 votes
1 answer

Could a Wild Magic Surge be triggered by a Wild Magic Sorcerer using a Magic Initiate spell?

Under Wild Magic Surge it states: Immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of first level or higher, the DM can have you roll a d20. Since Magic Initiate has you choose spells from a specific ...
zanman60's user avatar
  • 2,181
9 votes
2 answers

As a Sorcerer, can you trade out the spells granted by the Drow High Magic feat?

The Drow High Magic racial feat (XGtE, p. 74) states: You learn more of the magic typical of dark elves. You learn the detect magic spell and can cast it at will, without expending a spell slot. You ...
Khashir's user avatar
  • 13.2k

15 30 50 per page