Linked Questions

43 votes
5 answers
8k views

Can a thrown javelin be catapult-ed back?

The wizard is chased through the woods by a bandit. The bandit is 50 feet behind the wizard and continuously throws javelins at him. The wizard then readies a Catapult spell. The trigger is "after the ...
hohenheim's user avatar
  • 6,525
34 votes
6 answers
26k views

Is it possible to interrupt spellcasting?

As this blog post suggests, there seems to be a hole in the D&D Basic rules. Maybe. The rules for readying an action state: When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right ...
DuckTapeAl's user avatar
  • 48.7k
17 votes
4 answers
5k views

Can you use a readied action to teleport out of the way of a weapon attack?

Let's say that a player uses the ready action and says "If a character aims at me with a weapon, I'll use Teleport to move behind cover." What happens? Does this work? If not, please cite the rules ...
Robert's user avatar
  • 12.9k
19 votes
2 answers
2k views

If the fighter is hit with Guiding Bolt, can my Warlock punch him to use up the advantage?

Guiding Bolt grants advantage to the next attack against the same target: the next attack roll made against this target before the end of your next turn has advantage If one of my allies got hit ...
RonV's user avatar
  • 2,406
14 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can a readied action come between an attack roll and its damage roll?

So, the rules for Hiding from the Player Basic Rules, p. 73: If you are hidden—both unseen and unheard—when you make an attack, you give away your location when the attack hits or misses. Let's ...
Alo's user avatar
  • 365
3 votes
4 answers
621 views

Can a creature react to being targeted by a missile attack from a non-Hidden foe?

Making an attack has the following structure: Choose a target. Determine modifiers. Resolve the attack (typically as a hit or miss) Consider a creature, standing near an ally, who could potentially ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 52.4k
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

If I ready an action to an enemy's attack targeting my ally, and my reaction helps my ally move, does the enemy get to retarget?

So, I was thinking about the rules as I often do. I thought up a hypothetical that hasn't come up before because none of the people in my play group have try doing the maneuver fighter before. The ...
tbecker's user avatar
  • 73
15 votes
1 answer
2k views

When does a reaction happen if the trigger is movement?

I realize there are a bunch of these questions about the ready action but I couldn't find one that answers what I have in mind. I know by RAW the reaction happens after the trigger finishes but how ...
FenrirG's user avatar
  • 4,817
1 vote
1 answer
4k views

How does Guiding Bolt apply Advantage?

Spells like Guiding Bolt says: next attack roll made against target before the end of your next turn, has advantage. If there is a party of four, let's say, do all get advantage? Or just the next ...
Darkklown65's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can you cast the Darkness spell on an in-flight arrow using the Ready action?

A Level 18 Way of Shadow monk wants to Ready his action to use his reaction to cast Darkness on the tail feather of an arrow shot by one of his allies in mid-flight. Is this sort of maneuver doable, ...
Wheelium's user avatar
  • 197
6 votes
2 answers
669 views

When the artificer's Mechanical Servant uses its reaction to make a melee attack, does it interrupt the triggering attack against the artificer?

The artificer (from Unearthed Arcana: Artificer) gets the Mechanical Servant feature at 6th level, part of which states: If you are the target of a melee attack and the servant is within 5 feet of ...
ThousandEmu's user avatar