Linked Questions

25 votes
3 answers
4k views

Is a moon considered to be on the same Material Plane as the planet it orbits?

I was thinking about an adventure where my player characters have to travel to Selûne and come back with a creature found on the moon. However, the creature would be too large for travel by ship (at ...
Alexis Wilke's user avatar
  • 7,471
16 votes
4 answers
3k views

Can I still command/control Prime-cast concentration spells while I am in the Border Ethereal?

If I have cast something like Animated Objects or Bigby's Hand and then follow up the next round with casting Etherealness, can I still command/control those spells?
NotArch's user avatar
  • 126k
16 votes
3 answers
831 views

Are you considered out of range of spells and weapons when inside the hole of a Portable Hole?

Let’s say you place a Portable Hole against a wall, then walk inside its hole. Then, an evil wizard casts a fireball in the room where you put the hole. Considering you are now in an extra-dimensional ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
-2 votes
4 answers
410 views

What happens to the equipment of Phantom Steed when the spell ends?

The spell Phantom Steed lets you summon a horse-like creature. It says: You decide the creature's appearance, but it is equipped with a saddle, bit, and bridle. Any of the equipment created by the ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Where do you end up when you cast Dimension Door from an extradimensional space?

There are a number of limited, extradimensional spaces, for example the ones created by demiplane, a bag of holding, or a portable hole. Say you are in a closed portable hole, bag of holding or ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can I see through my Familiar's senses/communicate with my Familiar if they are on the other side of an Interdimensional Portal?

This question has been created to help adjudicate the question of whether a Familiar may communicate with their master inside of a Bag of Holding. Suppose that 5' away from a Wizard is a portal to the ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.7k
1 vote
1 answer
567 views

Would Summoning an Object Inscribed with Glyphs of Warding Via Drawmij's Instant Summons Invalidate the Glyphs?

Drawmij's Instant Summons. You touch an object weighing 10 pounds or less whose longest dimension is 6 feet or less. The spell leaves an invisible mark on its surface and invisibly inscribes the name ...
J Thompson's user avatar
  • 1,829
8 votes
2 answers
748 views

Is "extradimensional cheese" the only method of always having Glyphs of Warding ready?

This question covers a delectably lactose-tolerant method of accessing one or more Glyphs prepared in an extradimensional space, which it's assumed a DM would rule does not "move more than 10 ...
order's user avatar
  • 4,091
3 votes
1 answer
806 views

Can I message from an extradimensional space? What is the distance?

The third-level party is currently in a stone tower; the floor we are on has a ladder leading up to a trapdoor in the ceiling, and we have reason to believe that the floor above us may be heavily ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 52.7k
2 votes
2 answers
565 views

Can you possess a creature, using the magic jar spell, if you are in an extradimensional space (assuming you can see the humanoid) in 5e?

How does the spell magic jar work with an extradimensional space such as a bag of holding, handy haversack, portable hole, or the Genie Patron's Bottled Respite feature? Assuming you are able to see ...
defmod's user avatar
  • 758
3 votes
0 answers
81 views

Can you cast spells through planar gates? [duplicate]

Is it possible to cast spells through planar portals, like those created by the gate spell or a portable hole? There are some cases such as Rope Trick, that have explict language to block this. Gate ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar