Linked Questions

65 votes
7 answers
18k views

What happens when initiative allows a player to act before the player that started the combat?

This example is a somewhat simplified version of what happened during the last game I DMed for a bunch of friends. A party of PCs was trudging through the woods when they happened upon a very small ...
Kangaxx's user avatar
  • 881
16 votes
4 answers
16k views

How do I handle initiative when a new force joins a combat that's already in progress?

I am DMing a small hunger-games-like adventure where there are multiple parties of NPC who also are participating. It is pretty likely that the PCs will happen upon some of the NPCs fighting some ...
Teralynx's user avatar
  • 1,386
15 votes
7 answers
5k views

Can I delay my turn to the end of a round, by not rolling for initiative?

I am a Cleric and the main healer in the party. I've noticed that often it can be quite helpful for me to have my turn towards the end of the round rather than at the beginning, but I tend to come up ...
Senmurv's user avatar
  • 9,660
13 votes
3 answers
7k views

When are the effects of prone ended?

Here is a situation: Initiative 15 - Monk attacks orc causing the orc receive the "prone" condition. Initiative 13 - Orc stands up, ending the prone condition, and attacks the monk without ...
SteveED's user avatar
  • 2,084
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

If the DM rolls initiative once for a group of monsters, how do end-of-turn effects work?

A wizard rounds a corner to find two kobolds brandishing their weapons. Roll initiative! The DM determines that neither side is surprised. The DM then makes a single initiative roll (10) for the two ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 18.8k
8 votes
1 answer
759 views

Can you choose to delay rolling your initiative?

This is a follow-up to this question, specifically to that answer. I understand the concern of wreaking havoc on the duration of spells and other effects by delaying your turn at will in the ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can a familiar use a vial of acid?

Can a familiar use a vial of acid or similar items? I'm wondering if they're able to since I am making a warlock with proficiency in Alchemist’s Supplies.
Mario Aleksandar Marinov's user avatar
6 votes
4 answers
1k views

Can players decide at the start of combat what order to act in when planning an attack on a known enemy?

What keeps a player from deliberately planning their own initiative action themselves by choosing to act in a predefined sequence and waiting until a monster has acted? If all the players do this, ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you choose to not participate in combat?

The combat rules state, on page 189 PHB: Initiative determines the order of turns during combat. When combat starts, every participant makes a Dexterity check to determine their place in the ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
289 views

Deferred Initiative Breaching A Shut Door [duplicate]

If the party rolls but our first man through is not first in order, may the other characters defer their spot to follow the tank in and proceed with their turns? Or would they just have to skip their ...
Too Brutal's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
4k views

Can a character delay their action until a later Initiative count, or do they just forfeit their turn unless they Ready an action? [duplicate]

In D&D 4e (4e PHB pg.288) you can Delay, which allows you to save all your actions for a later time, coming back into the Initiative Order "After any other combatant has completed a turn." Is ...
Raymond C's user avatar
  • 860
1 vote
0 answers
2k views

Holding, Delaying, or Readying an Action? - Rules As Written [duplicate]

Please point or link me to any official rules (rules as written) on when a character can delay, hold or ready an action for later in a round, instead of going on their initiative. What does a ...
SteveED's user avatar
  • 2,084
1 vote
0 answers
49 views

In RAW can a player choose to go later in initiative order? [duplicate]

I know a player can hold an action as per the hold action rules, but can they decide to take entire turn further down the initiative order? If they do is this there initiative position for all ...
Richard C's user avatar
  • 6,306
1 vote
0 answers
540 views

Does holding an action change your order in inititiative? [duplicate]

I play in a group that has different levels of D&D experience from first time players to those that have been playing since the inception of D&D. We are currently playing in 5th edition. When ...
Josh's user avatar
  • 19
0 votes
1 answer
404 views

Can a character purposefully delay his position in the initiative order? [duplicate]

Many actions in combat (like making an enemy fall prone), can give an edge to your teammates (in this case, melee advantage) until the enemy's turn (in this case, he would get back up to end the ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k

15 30 50 per page