Linked Questions

8
votes
2answers
5k views

How does the Twinned Spell metamagic option interact with the Draconic Bloodline sorcerer's Elemental Affinity feature? [duplicate]

The sorcerer's Twinned Spell metamagic option states: When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the ...
4
votes
0answers
442 views

Would a Sorcerer roll damage once or twice when Twinning a damaging (non-attack) spell? [duplicate]

There is a useful rule in the PHB concerning multiple creatures being damaged simultaneously (PHB, p. 196): If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, roll ...
8
votes
2answers
4k views

How many times do you roll damage for Scorching Ray?

The rules for damage rolls say: If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, roll the damage once for all of them. So for the spell magic missile, it seems quite ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a Rod of Absorption Absorb a spell that was Twinned?

Scenario A party that has a Rod of Absorption is facing an evil Sorcerer. The Sorcerer casts a twinned Ray of Sickness at the Fighter and the Wizard. The Wizard is holding the rod. Would the Ray that ...
25
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a sorcerer make independent spell-effect choices for a Twinned spell?

Can a sorcerer make independent spell-effect choices for a Twinned spell? For instance, the Polymorph spell can be used on willing and unwilling targets; the unwilling can make a Wisdom save to avoid ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you move between the attacks of a Twinned Booming Blade?

Under "Moving Between Attacks" it says: "If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks..." If you ...
14
votes
1answer
2k views

When do I have to declare that I want to twin my spell?

When do I have to declare that I want to use the Twinned Spell Metamagic on my spell: before the attack roll, after the attack roll or after the DM tells me if it hits or not? Also do I lose the ...
10
votes
2answers
14k views

Does the Tempest domain's Destructive Wrath maximize ongoing damage from a twinned Witch Bolt?

I have a multiclass tempest cleric/sorcerer. If I twin Witch Bolt and then use Channel Divinity: Destructive Wrath, which allows me to deal max thunder or lightning damage, are both bolts impacted? ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

If one target of a Twinned Spell has 0 HP, does the Grave cleric's Circle of Mortality feature maximize healing on a second target who's not at 0 HP?

One PC is a multiclassed Grave Domain cleric/sorcerer. They cast a healing spell on a PC that has 0 health, and use the Twinned Spell Metamagic option to target another PC with the same spell. Would ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the Death Domain cleric's Touch of Death Channel Divinity option affect both targets of a spell from the Improved Reaper feature?

At 17th level, the Death Domain cleric's Improved Reaper feature (DMG p. 96-97) lets them target two creatures (within 5 feet of each other) instead of one with necromancy spells, given they are ...