Linked Questions

1 vote
1 answer
3k views

Does Disciple of Life work with spells cast from a Staff of Healing? [duplicate]

If I have a Cleric who is Life domain and a Staff of Healing does Disciple of Life work with the spells cast from the Staff? Staff of Healing: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 ...
Martin's user avatar
  • 11
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you use twinned spell metamagic on a spell cast from a ring of spell storing? [duplicate]

Twinned spell says: When you cast a spell.... Ring of spell storing says: This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
6 votes
0 answers
203 views

Does Elemental Affinity apply to spells cast from Magic Items? [duplicate]

Well, the title question is straight-forward. Elemental Affinity states Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your ...
HellSaint's user avatar
  • 37.1k
3 votes
0 answers
149 views

Can I use Empowered Spell on spells cast with a Wand of Magic Missile? [duplicate]

The Sorcerer's metamagic features has the following general rules: At 3rd level, you gain the ability to twist your spells to suit your needs...You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
130 views

Does the NPC wizard 'Diviner' regain their Portent ability on use of a scroll? [duplicate]

Most NPCs use a flat-basic stat block in lieu of character classes. Please observe the Diviner, a 15th level caster, from Volo's Guide to Monsters. This Diviner wizard has (1) class feature, the daily ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
48 views

Destructive Wrath on spells cast from items [duplicate]

The wand of lightning bolt just made an appearance in my game from a random loot table. My cleric would like to know if the channel divinity destructive wrath feature of her class is applicable to the ...
Trekkie's user avatar
  • 2,120
92 votes
3 answers
14k views

What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?

What exactly is the difference between Attack action and attack? It seems each time a question regarding this pops up, there's always somebody arguing they are not different. I feel there should be a ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.2k
57 votes
2 answers
24k views

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be "official rulings"?

The 2019 Sage Advice Compendium has been released. Previously, the SAC has indicated that Jeremy Crawford's tweets were considered to be official rulings. Is this still true?
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
37 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can two creatures, each with a Staff of the Magi, charge them up for free?

A Staff of the Magi has the Spell Absorption trait (emphasis mine): While holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when another ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 18.7k
25 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can a Ring of Spell Storing make it possible to apply multiple Metamagic options to one spell?

The Ring of Spell Storing is a unique item in that it allows one spell to be cast two times. The first time is when the spell is cast into the ring: Ring of Spell Storing, DMG 192 This ring ...
user avatar
22 votes
2 answers
3k views

For a multiclassed cleric/wizard, can cleric class features be applied to my wizard spells, and vice versa?

I play a D&D 5e campaign. My Tempest Cleric is about to take his first multi-class dip into Wizard. Am I able to use my Cleric class and domain features on my Wizard spells, and vice-versa? Both ...
Peter Coleman's user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
4k views

Does Wand of the War Mage apply to spells cast from other magic items?

Let's use a wizard holding a Wand of the War Mage (DMG, p. 212) in one hand and a Wand of Winter (HotDQ, p. 94) in the other hand as the example: Does the character get to add the bonus granted by ...
Seyres's user avatar
  • 790
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you cast spells from a Ring of Spell Storing without breaking Invisibility?

My Wizard casts invisibility on himself and then would like to cast spells (ones that don't require attack rolls) from a Ring of Spell Storing. According to developers, using a magic item to cast a ...
WetNachos's user avatar
  • 199
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use two wands to cast one spell?

Basically, in the May 2019 Artificer UA (Unearthed Arcana: the Artificer Returns), the Artificer got two mutually-exclusive ways to enhance a non-magical wand to improve the spells it casts: the Wand ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 13.9k
10 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can a sorcerer use the Quickened Spell metamagic option on a spell cast from a magic wand?

The sorcerer in my group has a wand of lightning bolts: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the lightning bolt spell (save DC 15) from it. For 1 ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.6k

15 30 50 per page