Linked Questions

1
vote
1answer
1k views

Does Disciple of Life work with spells cast from a Staff of Healing? [duplicate]

If I have a Cleric who is Life domain and a Staff of Healing does Disciple of Life work with the spells cast from the Staff? Staff of Healing: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 ...
3
votes
0answers
40 views

Does Elemental Affinity apply to spells cast from Magic Items? [duplicate]

Well, the title question is straight-forward. Elemental Affinity states Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your ...
76
votes
3answers
9k views

What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?

What exactly is the difference between Attack action and attack? It seems each time a question regarding this pops up, there's always somebody arguing they are not different. I feel there should be a ...
39
votes
2answers
4k views

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be “official rulings”?

The 2019 Sage Advice Compendium has been released. Previously, the SAC has indicated that Jeremy Crawford's tweets were considered to be official rulings. Is this still true?
34
votes
1answer
2k views

Can two creatures, each with a Staff of the Magi, charge them up for free?

A Staff of the Magi has the Spell Absorption trait (emphasis mine): While holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when another ...
22
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Ring of Spell Storing make it possible to apply multiple Metamagic options to one spell?

The Ring of Spell Storing is a unique item in that it allows one spell to be cast two times. The first time is when the spell is cast into the ring: Ring of Spell Storing, DMG 192 This ring ...
20
votes
2answers
2k views

For a multiclassed cleric/wizard, can cleric class features be applied to my wizard spells, and vice versa?

I play a D&D 5e campaign. My Tempest Cleric is about to take his first multi-class dip into Wizard. Am I able to use my Cleric class and domain features on my Wizard spells, and vice-versa? Both ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you cast spells from a Ring of Spell Storing without breaking Invisibility?

My Wizard casts invisibility on himself and then would like to cast spells (ones that don't require attack rolls) from a Ring of Spell Storing. According to developers, using a magic item to cast a ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Does Wand of the War Mage apply to spells cast from other magic items?

Let's use a wizard holding a Wand of the War Mage (DMG, p. 212) in one hand and a Wand of Winter (HotDQ, p. 94) in the other hand as the example: Does the character get to add the bonus granted by ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you use two wands to cast one spell?

Basically, in the May 2019 Artificer UA (Unearthed Arcana: the Artificer Returns), the Artificer got two mutually-exclusive ways to enhance a non-magical wand to improve the spells it casts: the Wand ...
7
votes
3answers
4k views

How does the UA Artificer's Arcane Armament feature interact with the Artillerist subclass's Wand Prototype feature?

The revised Artificer in Unearthed Arcana gets extra attack from its Arcane Armament feature (pg 5): Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, rather than once, whenever you take the Attack ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Drow - Spell Save for a Hat of Disguise

I'm trying to work out what the spell save would be for a Drow rogue using a Hat of Disguise. I've found that Disguise Self needs to use an Intelligence check against my spell save DC. For a Drow who ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Does using a Spell Scroll always include a verbal component?

I've been told that, when you use a Spell Scroll, there's always a de facto verbal component involved, as you have to read the scroll's contents out loud. That would mean that a Sorcerer using a ...
7
votes
2answers
324 views

Can an Evocation Wizard that casts Wish to duplicate Chaos Bolt add their Intelligence modifier to the damage?

The Evocation Wizard gets the Empowered Evocation feature which states: Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast. ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use a Wand of Wonder after casting a spell as a bonus action?

When you cast a spell as a bonus action (either because the spell takes a bonus action to cast by default like misty step, or because you use the Quickened Spell metamagic on it as a sorcerer), you ...

15 30 50 per page