Linked Questions

7 votes
2 answers
354 views

Is it possible to cast a bonus action spell and then use the Ready action to activate a magic item and cast another spell off-turn with your reaction?

I know the spellcasting rules must be followed when using a Magic Item that allows you to cast a spell. For example, with the Wand of Fireballs, we typically see statements like, emphasis mine: you ...
6 votes
2 answers
242 views

Can an Order of the Scribes wizard cast a spell from a magic item through its manifested mind?

Manifest Mind: Whenever you cast a wizard spell on your turn, you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind's space, instead of your own, using its senses. You can do so a number of times per ...
92 votes
3 answers
14k views

What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?

What exactly is the difference between Attack action and attack? It seems each time a question regarding this pops up, there's always somebody arguing they are not different. I feel there should be a ...
-2 votes
2 answers
849 views

Can you use Metamagic options when making a magic item or w/ Artificer's Emulate Magic Item Infusion by Multicalssing or by Metamagic Adept feat? [closed]

Can you use Metamagic options when making a magic item (via Xanthar's Guide) or w/ Artificer's Emulate Magic Item Infusion by Multicalssing or by Metamagic Adept feat? Ex: with the Metamagic options .....
12 votes
1 answer
9k views

Are the spells learned from the "Touched" feats considered class spells when cast using spell slots?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats published in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything each grant the use of two spells. Among other things, they say: You learn the [spells]. You can cast each of ...
3 votes
0 answers
48 views

Destructive Wrath on spells cast from items [duplicate]

The wand of lightning bolt just made an appearance in my game from a random loot table. My cleric would like to know if the channel divinity destructive wrath feature of her class is applicable to the ...
19 votes
2 answers
4k views

Does using a Spell Scroll always include a verbal component?

I've been told that, when you use a Spell Scroll, there's always a de facto verbal component involved, as you have to read the scroll's contents out loud. That would mean that a Sorcerer using a ...
3 votes
1 answer
659 views

Can a Helm of Teleportation or Teleport Scroll be Counterspelled if cast with Subtle Metamagic?

From the description of the Helm of Teleportation: "you can use an action and expend 1 charge to cast the teleport spell from it" So, that establishes we are in fact casting a spell. It is ...
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you use twinned spell metamagic on a spell cast from a ring of spell storing? [duplicate]

Twinned spell says: When you cast a spell.... Ring of spell storing says: This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels ...
1 vote
0 answers
130 views

Does the NPC wizard 'Diviner' regain their Portent ability on use of a scroll? [duplicate]

Most NPCs use a flat-basic stat block in lieu of character classes. Please observe the Diviner, a 15th level caster, from Volo's Guide to Monsters. This Diviner wizard has (1) class feature, the daily ...
11 votes
1 answer
884 views

Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

In my recent question about a homebrewed Artificer subclass, I was asked in a comment how one of the abilities that modifies spellcasting would interact with casting spells stored within a my subclass'...
5 votes
0 answers
121 views

Does the alchemist artificer casting cure wounds through his spell storing feature benefit from the alchemical savant feature? [duplicate]

Related: Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell? Alchemical Savant reads: You develop masterful command of magical chemicals, ...
5 votes
2 answers
480 views

Does playing magical music count as casting a spell?

So in DnD 5e, my bard character happened upon some fragments of a musical composition. When my character tried playing it, it caused some sonic-charged magical effect. My question is--specifically in ...
3 votes
0 answers
149 views

Can I use Empowered Spell on spells cast with a Wand of Magic Missile? [duplicate]

The Sorcerer's metamagic features has the following general rules: At 3rd level, you gain the ability to twist your spells to suit your needs...You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when ...
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is it possible for a caster to have 2 castings of Foresight active?

The Foresight spell specifically includes the following caveat: This spell immediately ends if you cast it again before its duration ends. Looking at this, I figured the only way to avoid that issue ...

15 30 50 per page