Linked Questions

1 vote
1 answer
3k views

Does Disciple of Life work with spells cast from a Staff of Healing? [duplicate]

If I have a Cleric who is Life domain and a Staff of Healing does Disciple of Life work with the spells cast from the Staff? Staff of Healing: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 ...
Martin's user avatar
  • 11
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can you use twinned spell metamagic on a spell cast from a ring of spell storing? [duplicate]

Twinned spell says: When you cast a spell.... Ring of spell storing says: This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
6 votes
0 answers
203 views

Does Elemental Affinity apply to spells cast from Magic Items? [duplicate]

Well, the title question is straight-forward. Elemental Affinity states Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your ...
HellSaint's user avatar
  • 37.1k
3 votes
0 answers
149 views

Can I use Empowered Spell on spells cast with a Wand of Magic Missile? [duplicate]

The Sorcerer's metamagic features has the following general rules: At 3rd level, you gain the ability to twist your spells to suit your needs...You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
130 views

Does the NPC wizard 'Diviner' regain their Portent ability on use of a scroll? [duplicate]

Most NPCs use a flat-basic stat block in lieu of character classes. Please observe the Diviner, a 15th level caster, from Volo's Guide to Monsters. This Diviner wizard has (1) class feature, the daily ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
48 views

Destructive Wrath on spells cast from items [duplicate]

The wand of lightning bolt just made an appearance in my game from a random loot table. My cleric would like to know if the channel divinity destructive wrath feature of her class is applicable to the ...
Trekkie's user avatar
  • 2,120
92 votes
3 answers
14k views

What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?

What exactly is the difference between Attack action and attack? It seems each time a question regarding this pops up, there's always somebody arguing they are not different. I feel there should be a ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.5k
57 votes
2 answers
25k views

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be "official rulings"?

The 2019 Sage Advice Compendium has been released. Previously, the SAC has indicated that Jeremy Crawford's tweets were considered to be official rulings. Is this still true?
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
37 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can two creatures, each with a Staff of the Magi, charge them up for free?

A Staff of the Magi has the Spell Absorption trait (emphasis mine): While holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when another ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 18.8k
25 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can a Ring of Spell Storing make it possible to apply multiple Metamagic options to one spell?

The Ring of Spell Storing is a unique item in that it allows one spell to be cast two times. The first time is when the spell is cast into the ring: Ring of Spell Storing, DMG 192 This ring ...
user avatar
22 votes
2 answers
3k views

For a multiclassed cleric/wizard, can cleric class features be applied to my wizard spells, and vice versa?

I play a D&D 5e campaign. My Tempest Cleric is about to take his first multi-class dip into Wizard. Am I able to use my Cleric class and domain features on my Wizard spells, and vice-versa? Both ...
Peter Coleman's user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
4k views

Does Wand of the War Mage apply to spells cast from other magic items?

Let's use a wizard holding a Wand of the War Mage (DMG, p. 212) in one hand and a Wand of Winter (HotDQ, p. 94) in the other hand as the example: Does the character get to add the bonus granted by ...
Seyres's user avatar
  • 790
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you cast spells from a Ring of Spell Storing without breaking Invisibility?

My Wizard casts invisibility on himself and then would like to cast spells (ones that don't require attack rolls) from a Ring of Spell Storing. According to developers, using a magic item to cast a ...
WetNachos's user avatar
  • 199
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use two wands to cast one spell?

Basically, in the May 2019 Artificer UA (Unearthed Arcana: the Artificer Returns), the Artificer got two mutually-exclusive ways to enhance a non-magical wand to improve the spells it casts: the Wand ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 13.9k
10 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can a sorcerer use the Quickened Spell metamagic option on a spell cast from a magic wand?

The sorcerer in my group has a wand of lightning bolts: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the lightning bolt spell (save DC 15) from it. For 1 ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.6k
19 votes
2 answers
4k views

Does using a Spell Scroll always include a verbal component?

I've been told that, when you use a Spell Scroll, there's always a de facto verbal component involved, as you have to read the scroll's contents out loud. That would mean that a Sorcerer using a ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is it possible for a caster to have 2 castings of Foresight active?

The Foresight spell specifically includes the following caveat: This spell immediately ends if you cast it again before its duration ends. Looking at this, I figured the only way to avoid that issue ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a sorcerer spell cast from a magic item trigger a Wild Magic Surge?

A Wild Magic Surge may happen when a Wild Magic sorcerer (PHB, p. 103-104) casts a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher: Once per turn, the DM can have you roll a d20 immediately after you cast a ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
7 votes
3 answers
7k views

How does the UA Artificer's Arcane Armament feature interact with the Artillerist subclass's Wand Prototype feature?

The revised Artificer in Unearthed Arcana gets extra attack from its Arcane Armament feature (pg 5): Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, rather than once, whenever you take the Attack ...
Felslayer's user avatar
  • 436
12 votes
1 answer
9k views

Are the spells learned from the "Touched" feats considered class spells when cast using spell slots?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats published in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything each grant the use of two spells. Among other things, they say: You learn the [spells]. You can cast each of ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,276
10 votes
2 answers
776 views

Can an Evocation Wizard that casts Wish to duplicate Chaos Bolt add their Intelligence modifier to the damage?

The Evocation Wizard gets the Empowered Evocation feature which states: Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast. ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.5k
11 votes
1 answer
884 views

Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

In my recent question about a homebrewed Artificer subclass, I was asked in a comment how one of the abilities that modifies spellcasting would interact with casting spells stored within a my subclass'...
Blckknght's user avatar
  • 8,312
5 votes
2 answers
480 views

Does playing magical music count as casting a spell?

So in DnD 5e, my bard character happened upon some fragments of a musical composition. When my character tried playing it, it caused some sonic-charged magical effect. My question is--specifically in ...
Erimal's user avatar
  • 53
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use a Wand of Wonder after casting a spell as a bonus action?

When you cast a spell as a bonus action (either because the spell takes a bonus action to cast by default like misty step, or because you use the Quickened Spell metamagic on it as a sorcerer), you ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
1 vote
2 answers
2k views

Drow - Spell Save for a Hat of Disguise

I'm trying to work out what the spell save would be for a Drow rogue using a Hat of Disguise. I've found that Disguise Self needs to use an Intelligence check against my spell save DC. For a Drow who ...
Ian's user avatar
  • 388
5 votes
1 answer
704 views

Does the Storm Sorcerer's Heart of the Storm feature work with the Wand of Lightning Bolts?

The description for the Storm Sorcerer's 6th-level Heart of the Storm feature says "whenever you start casting a spell of first level or higher". The Wand of Lightning Bolts casts the Lightning Bolt ...
Eternallord66's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers
242 views

Can an Order of the Scribes wizard cast a spell from a magic item through its manifested mind?

Manifest Mind: Whenever you cast a wizard spell on your turn, you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind's space, instead of your own, using its senses. You can do so a number of times per ...
Wren's user avatar
  • 61
-2 votes
2 answers
848 views

Can you use Metamagic options when making a magic item or w/ Artificer's Emulate Magic Item Infusion by Multicalssing or by Metamagic Adept feat? [closed]

Can you use Metamagic options when making a magic item (via Xanthar's Guide) or w/ Artificer's Emulate Magic Item Infusion by Multicalssing or by Metamagic Adept feat? Ex: with the Metamagic options .....
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
507 views

Can the stress of wish prevent using wishes from other sources? [duplicate]

The stress of casting wish for creative effects has a 1/3 chance of preventing the caster from ever casting wish again. (There are plenty of cites all over RPG Exchange.) Does this preclude using ...
Codes with Hammer's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
659 views

Can a Helm of Teleportation or Teleport Scroll be Counterspelled if cast with Subtle Metamagic?

From the description of the Helm of Teleportation: "you can use an action and expend 1 charge to cast the teleport spell from it" So, that establishes we are in fact casting a spell. It is ...
RhinoTX's user avatar
  • 1,309

15 30 50 per page