Linked Questions

37 votes
1 answer

Can two creatures, each with a Staff of the Magi, charge them up for free?

A Staff of the Magi has the Spell Absorption trait (emphasis mine): While holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when another ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 18.8k
25 votes
1 answer

Can a Ring of Spell Storing make it possible to apply multiple Metamagic options to one spell?

The Ring of Spell Storing is a unique item in that it allows one spell to be cast two times. The first time is when the spell is cast into the ring: Ring of Spell Storing, DMG 192 This ring ...
user avatar
13 votes
1 answer

Can a sorcerer spell cast from a magic item trigger a Wild Magic Surge?

A Wild Magic Surge may happen when a Wild Magic sorcerer (PHB, p. 103-104) casts a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher: Once per turn, the DM can have you roll a d20 immediately after you cast a ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
12 votes
1 answer

Are the spells learned from the "Touched" feats considered class spells when cast using spell slots?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats published in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything each grant the use of two spells. Among other things, they say: You learn the [spells]. You can cast each of ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,276
11 votes
1 answer

Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

In my recent question about a homebrewed Artificer subclass, I was asked in a comment how one of the abilities that modifies spellcasting would interact with casting spells stored within a my subclass'...
Blckknght's user avatar
  • 8,312
5 votes
1 answer

Does the Storm Sorcerer's Heart of the Storm feature work with the Wand of Lightning Bolts?

The description for the Storm Sorcerer's 6th-level Heart of the Storm feature says "whenever you start casting a spell of first level or higher". The Wand of Lightning Bolts casts the Lightning Bolt ...
Eternallord66's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer

Can a Helm of Teleportation or Teleport Scroll be Counterspelled if cast with Subtle Metamagic?

From the description of the Helm of Teleportation: "you can use an action and expend 1 charge to cast the teleport spell from it" So, that establishes we are in fact casting a spell. It is ...
RhinoTX's user avatar
  • 1,309
3 votes
1 answer

Can the stress of wish prevent using wishes from other sources? [duplicate]

The stress of casting wish for creative effects has a 1/3 chance of preventing the caster from ever casting wish again. (There are plenty of cites all over RPG Exchange.) Does this preclude using ...
Codes with Hammer's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer

Does Disciple of Life work with spells cast from a Staff of Healing? [duplicate]

If I have a Cleric who is Life domain and a Staff of Healing does Disciple of Life work with the spells cast from the Staff? Staff of Healing: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 ...
Martin's user avatar
  • 11
0 votes
1 answer

Can you use twinned spell metamagic on a spell cast from a ring of spell storing? [duplicate]

Twinned spell says: When you cast a spell.... Ring of spell storing says: This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels ...
Sam Lacrumb's user avatar
  • 11.1k
6 votes
0 answers

Does Elemental Affinity apply to spells cast from Magic Items? [duplicate]

Well, the title question is straight-forward. Elemental Affinity states Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, add your ...
HellSaint's user avatar
  • 37.1k
5 votes
0 answers

Does the alchemist artificer casting cure wounds through his spell storing feature benefit from the alchemical savant feature? [duplicate]

Related: Does casting a spell from an item allow you to apply class abilities that are used when casting a spell? Alchemical Savant reads: You develop masterful command of magical chemicals, ...
Dezvul's user avatar
  • 1,828
3 votes
0 answers

Destructive Wrath on spells cast from items [duplicate]

The wand of lightning bolt just made an appearance in my game from a random loot table. My cleric would like to know if the channel divinity destructive wrath feature of her class is applicable to the ...
Trekkie's user avatar
  • 2,120
3 votes
0 answers

Can I use Empowered Spell on spells cast with a Wand of Magic Missile? [duplicate]

The Sorcerer's metamagic features has the following general rules: At 3rd level, you gain the ability to twist your spells to suit your needs...You can use only one Metamagic option on a spell when ...
Pyrotechnical's user avatar
1 vote
0 answers

Does the NPC wizard 'Diviner' regain their Portent ability on use of a scroll? [duplicate]

Most NPCs use a flat-basic stat block in lieu of character classes. Please observe the Diviner, a 15th level caster, from Volo's Guide to Monsters. This Diviner wizard has (1) class feature, the daily ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar

15 30 50 per page