Linked Questions

92 votes
3 answers
14k views

What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?

What exactly is the difference between Attack action and attack? It seems each time a question regarding this pops up, there's always somebody arguing they are not different. I feel there should be a ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.5k
57 votes
2 answers
25k views

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be "official rulings"?

The 2019 Sage Advice Compendium has been released. Previously, the SAC has indicated that Jeremy Crawford's tweets were considered to be official rulings. Is this still true?
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 95.1k
37 votes
1 answer
4k views

Can two creatures, each with a Staff of the Magi, charge them up for free?

A Staff of the Magi has the Spell Absorption trait (emphasis mine): While holding the staff, you have advantage on saving throws against spells. In addition, you can use your reaction when another ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 18.8k
25 votes
1 answer
5k views

Can a Ring of Spell Storing make it possible to apply multiple Metamagic options to one spell?

The Ring of Spell Storing is a unique item in that it allows one spell to be cast two times. The first time is when the spell is cast into the ring: Ring of Spell Storing, DMG 192 This ring ...
user avatar
22 votes
2 answers
3k views

For a multiclassed cleric/wizard, can cleric class features be applied to my wizard spells, and vice versa?

I play a D&D 5e campaign. My Tempest Cleric is about to take his first multi-class dip into Wizard. Am I able to use my Cleric class and domain features on my Wizard spells, and vice-versa? Both ...
Peter Coleman's user avatar
19 votes
2 answers
4k views

Does using a Spell Scroll always include a verbal component?

I've been told that, when you use a Spell Scroll, there's always a de facto verbal component involved, as you have to read the scroll's contents out loud. That would mean that a Sorcerer using a ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
13 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you cast spells from a Ring of Spell Storing without breaking Invisibility?

My Wizard casts invisibility on himself and then would like to cast spells (ones that don't require attack rolls) from a Ring of Spell Storing. According to developers, using a magic item to cast a ...
WetNachos's user avatar
  • 199
13 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can a sorcerer spell cast from a magic item trigger a Wild Magic Surge?

A Wild Magic Surge may happen when a Wild Magic sorcerer (PHB, p. 103-104) casts a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher: Once per turn, the DM can have you roll a d20 immediately after you cast a ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
12 votes
1 answer
9k views

Are the spells learned from the "Touched" feats considered class spells when cast using spell slots?

The Fey Touched and Shadow Touched feats published in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything each grant the use of two spells. Among other things, they say: You learn the [spells]. You can cast each of ...
gto's user avatar
  • 5,276
11 votes
1 answer
885 views

Do class or subclass features that relate to spellcasting apply when producing a spell's effect from an Artificer's Spell-Storing Item?

In my recent question about a homebrewed Artificer subclass, I was asked in a comment how one of the abilities that modifies spellcasting would interact with casting spells stored within a my subclass'...
Blckknght's user avatar
  • 8,312
10 votes
3 answers
5k views

Can a sorcerer use the Quickened Spell metamagic option on a spell cast from a magic wand?

The sorcerer in my group has a wand of lightning bolts: While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the lightning bolt spell (save DC 15) from it. For 1 ...
BlueMoon93's user avatar
  • 46.7k
10 votes
2 answers
776 views

Can an Evocation Wizard that casts Wish to duplicate Chaos Bolt add their Intelligence modifier to the damage?

The Evocation Wizard gets the Empowered Evocation feature which states: Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast. ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.5k
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use two wands to cast one spell?

Basically, in the May 2019 Artificer UA (Unearthed Arcana: the Artificer Returns), the Artificer got two mutually-exclusive ways to enhance a non-magical wand to improve the spells it casts: the Wand ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 13.9k
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use a Wand of Wonder after casting a spell as a bonus action?

When you cast a spell as a bonus action (either because the spell takes a bonus action to cast by default like misty step, or because you use the Quickened Spell metamagic on it as a sorcerer), you ...
Gael L's user avatar
  • 28.8k
7 votes
3 answers
4k views

Does Wand of the War Mage apply to spells cast from other magic items?

Let's use a wizard holding a Wand of the War Mage (DMG, p. 212) in one hand and a Wand of Winter (HotDQ, p. 94) in the other hand as the example: Does the character get to add the bonus granted by ...
Seyres's user avatar
  • 790

15 30 50 per page