Linked Questions

33
votes
5answers
103k views

Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon?

I have a halfling cleric of Bahamut who wears his holy symbol as an amulet around his neck as a spellcasting focus (so material components are not an issue). However, as per this question, this does ...
36
votes
5answers
41k views

How do foci and somatic+material components interact when it comes to occupying a hand?

In 5e, the rules state the following regarding spells with somatic and material components: Somatic (S) Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of ...
24
votes
6answers
10k views

Can an Elven Wizard use a bow for an arcane focus?

If an elven wizard had proficiency in a bow, could he use that as his arcane focus?
29
votes
1answer
79k views

Drawing and sheathing a weapon in 5e, and the actions required

I've seen this question asked about 4e, and I think I've found the passage in the 5e PHB that answers the question, but I'd like to make sure I understand this correctly before I impose it on my game. ...
24
votes
2answers
6k views

Can you cast and hold Produce Flame and then wield a weapon and shield?

The text of the produce flame spell reads: A flickering flame appears in your hand. The flame remains there for the duration and harms neither you nor your equipment. The flame sheds bright light ...
9
votes
1answer
93k views

Can you cast a spell while holding a shield? [duplicate]

I am a Wizard with 1 multiclass level of Cleric. Can I cast a spell if I have my other hand free? I thought I could but the text of the War Caster feat leads me to believe I might not be able to.
12
votes
3answers
3k views

Do you need a free hand for your holy symbol if you're wearing it visibly?

I've been creating a Paladin who uses the Defense fighting style while wielding two weapons (instead of the more common Dueling style with weapon and shield). However, I was worried that spell ...
6
votes
2answers
5k views

With only one free hand, can I still cast spells with somatic components?

I have a doubt about this. I have had various answers and they contradict each other so I would like some clarity on this. I am a Cleric, I have a shield (which is also my focus), I want to wear my ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

How do the actions work out when sheathing/drawing weapon and then casting a spell?

My character is a Warlock/Fighter with two-weapons fighting speciality. I'm kinda confused with 2 weapons and the spellcasting. All at the same time. So I have the following scenario, please, correct ...
4
votes
2answers
222 views

Spellcasting and interactions with S/M components when hands are in use

Let's say I've got a creature who has a shield in one hand and their focus in another. They also have the war caster feat They'd like to cast a spell requiring a Material component with cost/that ...