Linked Questions

6 votes
2 answers
989 views

Is a dead creature inside a Shambling Mound still Engulfed?

I was playing in a game where there was a shambling mound and after engulfing a creature and killing it, the creature goes about its turn and engulfs a second person. The DM didn't specify anything ...
ItsScottish's user avatar
  • 1,411
6 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you end your turn in the same space as an unconscious or dead creature? [duplicate]

The rules state: Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space. What happens if that creature has either been knocked unconscious or has been killed? Are ...
Allan Mills's user avatar
  • 26.1k
4 votes
2 answers
487 views

Can Glyph of Warding be used with Gentle Repose?

The spell Glyph of Warding allows one to charge the glyph with a spell that is cast when the glyph is triggered: Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by ...
nben's user avatar
  • 2,665
3 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can Flesh to Stone spell &/or magic turn a dead body to stone?

Any creature failing two DC 13 Con-saves vs. gorgon breath (or other such magic such as Flesh to Stone spell) is stone-petrified. Also, a dead yet animated creature (ANY corporeal undead) suffers ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar
19 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can I use Fabricate and a horse to create burger patties and/or sausages?

I know it’s odd, but it came up recently as my character, using the cloak of useful items, created a horse. The party has no use for it, and we are trapped in a mountainous area where horses cannot ...
Dan Versace's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens when an Enlarged Creature dies?

Enlarge says it works on both creatures and objects. The spell doesn't specify what happens when a creature dies and the way I understand it is that a living, breathing creature becomes an object when ...
DoStuffZ's user avatar
  • 979
8 votes
1 answer
258 views

How does "Know Age" work with bones?

In our campaign we're discovering items from an ancient civilization that nobody knows about, so we're digging around in search for clues about these people. We already know that they lived up to 600 ...
Ohmnibus's user avatar
  • 978
6 votes
1 answer
564 views

For spells with multiple attack rolls, what happens if there are no targets left?

When are targets picked for spells with multiple "missiles"? tells us that you can (probably) resolve each "beam" or "ray" of, say, eldritch blast or scorching ray one after the other. ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79k
6 votes
1 answer
341 views

What are the unintended or dangerous consequences of allowing spells that target and damage creatures to also target and damage corpses?

There have been quite a few questions about corpses and creatures, such as here where it is argued a dead creature is still a creature, here where the opposite is argued, and here where resurrecting ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.2k
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a level 1 genie patron warlock casting genie's vessel bring in a corpse?

As a Warlock with a Genie patron, I have access to Geneie's vessel. I'm wondering if I can store a dead party member in it. I'm looking for a way to bring dead party members home.
wpigrad's user avatar
  • 597
5 votes
1 answer
8k views

Can you use Sending on a dead creature?

So I'm playing a D&D 5e campaign and my character is a 8th level cleric. One of the 3rd level cleric spells is sending. It states: You send a short message of twenty-five words or less to a ...
Spellcaster's user avatar
  • 3,165
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can you use the Dimension Door spell to teleport while carrying a dead body?

The description of the Dimension Door spell includes: You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn’t exceed what you can carry. You can also bring one willing creature of your size or ...
trigun99's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
480 views

What would happen if my PC cast Dream on her unborn baby?

This is purely flavor for the game and holds no real impact on the overall story, but I thought it could be kind of fun. My character is currently only a few weeks pregnant so I don't think it would ...
Jessica Attwood's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can I teleport unconcious allies with Thunder Step? [duplicate]

Say my ally is making death saving throws, can I still teleport him with Thunder Step? Provided that he is the same size or smaller, within 5 feet of me and there is space for him where I teleport to. ...
Emile Armand's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can banishment affect dead bodies?

One of my players cast the banishment spell on a dead body. I wasn't sure in the moment if this actually worked, and so I said it didn't. Can someone tell if it does or does not and why?
Feldragoon's user avatar

15 30 50 per page