Linked Questions

7
votes
1answer
3k views

How to reconcile Tiefling's Infernal Legacy's Hellish Rebuke with melee warrior? [duplicate]

Infernal Legacy grants tieflings ability to cast Hellish Rebuke as a reaction at 3rd level, as if it was cast using a 2nd level spell slot. Hellish Rebuke as spell has Verbal and Somatic components. ...
33
votes
5answers
95k views

Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon?

I have a halfling cleric of Bahamut who wears his holy symbol as an amulet around his neck as a spellcasting focus (so material components are not an issue). However, as per this question, this does ...
10
votes
4answers
3k views

Is my interpretation of somatic components, object interactions, and the second benefit of the War Caster feat correct?

The War Caster feat (PHB, p. 170) allows a player to avoid the somatic requirement of spells when casting. However, since you can drop a weapon for free and then pick it up as a free interaction, you ...
12
votes
4answers
3k views

Is your ability to hit someone in D&D 5e independent of whether they are holding a weapon?

As I have looked over the D&D 5e combat it seems that whether or not one can hit someone with an attack has no relation to whether or not that person or monster is holding a weapon, because ...
28
votes
1answer
8k views

Are you considered to have a free hand while using a Versatile weapon?

Certain abilities require a free hand to perform: picking up an item or drawing a weapon, casting a spell with a somatic component, using Gloves of Missile Snaring, etc. If you make a two-handed ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you drop a weapon/item when it is not your turn?

Thought of while contemplating this question on whether you can drop prone off your turn, I am wondering if you can drop a weapon/item. This Q/A claims that dropping a weapon is a free action, but I ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

Action economies, two-handed weapons, and spells with Somatic components

This is a follow-on to Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon? So, I have a spell, say Sanctuary, that is cast as a bonus action, yet requires Verbal ...
8
votes
2answers
790 views

RAW, can a 3rd level sword-and-board eldritch knight usefully cast Absorb Elements?

I often see Absorb Elements (AE) mentioned as a useful spell for an Eldritch Knight (EK), because it gives you temporary resistance to one type of damage and lets you add that type of damage to your ...
7
votes
1answer
310 views

May a character switch from a druidic to an arcane focus without expending an action?

If a multiclass Sorcerer/Druid wielding a shield and an arcane focus decides to cast a druid spell, can they switch their focus and cast the spell in a single turn? Secondarily, is it reasonable for ...
2
votes
1answer
170 views

Can a non-action be taken as part of an OA/reaction?

Some acts, such as dropping items or speaking, are consistently considered "non-actions" in the D&D rules (I'm asking about 3.5e in this question, but it seems that this is consistent among all ...