Linked Questions

1
vote
1answer
1k views

Does a character with a permanent True Polymorph effect reverts to their normal form upon reaching 0 HP? [duplicate]

The wording on true polymorph seems to imply the change back upon reaching 0 HP: The target assumes the hit points of its new form, and when it reverts to its normal form, the creature returns to ...
16
votes
4answers
3k views

Can I get a paladin's steed by True Polymorphing into a monster that can cast Find Steed?

I am examining niche ways to cast Find Steed. I'm specifically interested in ones that don't require me to take levels in Bard, Thief Rogue, Wizard, or Paladin. I had the idea that I could True ...
11
votes
4answers
44k views

How is True Polymorph not completely unbalanced?

How is True polymorph balanced in regards to any spell besides Wish? (Which is inherently unbalanced per design). Two example uses that seem unbalanced: A level 20 Warlock and Bard are having a talk ...
17
votes
4answers
23k views

Can True Polymorph be dispelled or reversed?

My interpretation of True Polymorph is that, once made permanent, it could not be undone (except perhaps with a Wish spell, god-level magic, another casting of True Polymorph, or some similar ability)....
32
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?)

Is it possible to make crafting materials, like adamantine, out of a goblin or such using the True Polymorph spell for the full duration of the spell? On a side note, while adamantine is mentioned in ...
24
votes
3answers
6k views

Can True Polymorph be used repeatedly to never age?

Let's say we have a level 20 human wizard named Dumbledore. Dumbledore is wicked old. Dumbledore would like to not die of old age, as he has a few enemies left to take care of. Can Dumbledore cast ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can True Polymorph be used to transform someone into a shapechanger creature?

The spell clearly says that it does not affect a shapechanger. Shapechangers are not affected by this spell. But has nothing about the opposite. Would that mean that I can change a Goblin into a ...
21
votes
1answer
1k views

As of the November 2018 core book updates, what changes were made in the latest printings of the PHB that aren't noted in the errata document?

The D&D 5e core books were updated with a new printing as of November 2018 (alongside the release of the Core Rules Gift Set), as can be seen from a number of new questions and updated answers ...
21
votes
2answers
3k views

What is the difference, if any, between “Permanent”, and “Until Dispelled”?

Some spells, such as Forbiddance, say that under certain circumstances, they last "Until Dispelled". Other spells, such as Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum, say that under certain circumstances, they ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

How do multiple castings of True Polymorph interact?

When targeting a creature changed by any form of polymorph affect (Polymorph, Shapechange, Wild Shape, or True Polymorph), do you target the original creature, or the creature in its current form? ...
8
votes
1answer
253 views

Can killing the spellcaster undo a 'permanent' True Polymorph?

So I have a character (E) that, Many years ago, was True Polymorphed into an elf so his also-elven spouse (N) wouldn't outlive him so drastically. The result ended in E being roughly thirty years ...
4
votes
2answers
884 views

Can a caster grant class levels to the target form of a True Polymorph?

This is a follow-on to: Does a caster under the effect of a True Polymorph spell retain their class levels? Assume we have a wizard who wants to check out a cave system where he or she can't fit ...
3
votes
1answer
94 views

Can multiple casts of True Polymorph stack?

Heavily related to this question, I want to know if multiple castings of True Polymorph would stack if made permanent. Picture this scenario: (Assume a willing target.) Any given character is TP'd ...