Linked Questions

18 votes
4 answers
9k views

Can any magic item rod be used as an arcane focus? [duplicate]

Inspired by this question: Multi purpose Arcane Focus? The premise of the other question is about using the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a focus, and although it implies it can be used as a focus ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.3k
0 votes
1 answer
360 views

Are all magical staves and wands spellcasting foci? [duplicate]

Are magical items such as: Staff of Frost DMG page 202 Staff of Power DMG page 202 Wand of Fireballs DMG page 210 Wand of the War Mage +1 DMG page 212 Considered to be foci usable for spellcasting, ...
Foffos's user avatar
  • 1,389
57 votes
2 answers
25k views

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be "official rulings"?

The 2019 Sage Advice Compendium has been released. Previously, the SAC has indicated that Jeremy Crawford's tweets were considered to be official rulings. Is this still true?
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 95.2k
14 votes
2 answers
25k views

Is it possible to use a weapon as a normal weapon and an arcane focus at the same time?

I am relatively new to D&D, and am currently creating my very first PC, a Tiefling Sorcerer with a Draconic Origin. As I was working on my weapons and items, I got into what an arcane focus is and ...
mystical_rolls's user avatar
11 votes
2 answers
7k views

Can Hexblade warlocks use a staff and shield?

Hexblade warlocks gain proficiency with shields at 1st level from the Hex Warrior feature (p. 55): At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You ...
Foffos's user avatar
  • 1,389
12 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can an arcane focus boost spell attack or damage rolls?

Is it possible for an arcane focus to boost spell attack or damage rolls? To act as a +1/+2/etc. modifier, like stronger physical weapons.
JT1987's user avatar
  • 121
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

Are Casting Foci Magic Items?

By "casting foci", I am referring to arcane focus, druidic focus, and holy symbol, because they're all just different fluff for the same thing, just keynamed for class restrictions. When I say magic ...
JAMalcolmson's user avatar
  • 3,204
10 votes
3 answers
6k views

Can a multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer use the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a spellcasting focus for both classes?

Warlocks and Sorcerers share Charisma as their spellcasting ability and both can use an arcane focus. The Rod of the Pact Keeper is a focus for warlocks. Can a multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer use the Rod ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you use two wands to cast one spell?

Basically, in the May 2019 Artificer UA (Unearthed Arcana: the Artificer Returns), the Artificer got two mutually-exclusive ways to enhance a non-magical wand to improve the spells it casts: the Wand ...
nick012000's user avatar
  • 14.1k
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

How does the Wand of the War Mage work for a multiclassed warlock/sorcerer?

The description of the wand of the war mage, +1 (which requires attunement by a spellcaster) says: While you are holding this wand, you gain a +1 bonus to spell attack rolls. In addition, you ...
Foffos's user avatar
  • 1,389
12 votes
4 answers
4k views

Does War Caster allow you to cast the Shield spell with a rod in one hand and a wand in the other?

By default, you must have a completely free hand to cast a spell that has somatic components but does not have material components. That free hand may not even be holding a spellcasting focus. A ...
Red Orca's user avatar
  • 19.1k
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does the Staff of Defense count as an arcane focus?

I thought the Staff of Defense from the start set should count as an arcane focus, but a few people have disagreed with me. I'm wondering if there's any explicit information out there, because most ...
RonLugge's user avatar
  • 2,903
3 votes
2 answers
369 views

Does the Magic Initiate feat require another focus? [duplicate]

Put simply, if say a druid wanted to take the Magic Initiate feat to gain access to sorcerer spells, would that require them to have a component pouch or arcane focus to cast those spells, as it would ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,398
2 votes
1 answer
328 views

What rarity should this homebrew scimitar fused to a wand of the war mage be?

I made a weapon in D&D 5e: A silver-plated scimitar that has a +2 wand of the war mage fused along the back of the blade, and an Arcane Focus crystal embedded in the hilt. I also placed a ...
Evoker of Mulmaster's user avatar