Linked Questions

6
votes
3answers
3k views

Does heat metal continue to function regardless of range? [duplicate]

After being targeted with a Heat Metal spell, does it continue to function if the caster is concentrating but the target has moved out of range? The RAW doesn't specify in the spell description and I ...
2
votes
1answer
325 views

Does Phantasmal Force Have a Range Limit After Casting? [duplicate]

Phantasmal Force 2nd-level Illusion Casting Time: 1 action Range: 60 feet If I were to cast this spell, and either I or the target otherwise become greater than 60 feet away from each ...
0
votes
0answers
118 views

Does “Invisibility” require sight to maintain concentration? [duplicate]

So, one of the spellcasters in my group wants to cast invisibility on the thief to have him scout out a dungeon. The Players Handbook doesn't specifically say the caster must be in sight range of the ...
2
votes
0answers
113 views

Does concentration require line of sight to the spell effect being maintained? [duplicate]

Does concentration on a spell require line of sight to the area of the spell, or can the caster move into cover and continue concentrating? For example, a caster steps out of a doorway, casts ...
2
votes
0answers
69 views

Maintaining a concentration spell beyond casting range [duplicate]

Tonight, I had a bard cast Hungar of Hadar into a room, then circle back through the dungeon to flank while maintaining concentration on the spell. The spell has a range of 150 feet. Is it possible to ...
1
vote
0answers
49 views

Spiritual Weapon Range vs. LOS [duplicate]

There's plenty of discussion and even sage advice out there explaining that a caster need not have Line of Sight (LOS) on a target for their Spiritual Weapon to make an attack. I.e. a paladin can ...
8
votes
4answers
35k views

Is heat metal too powerful? [closed]

Heat metal is a 2nd level spell that lasts 1 minute (concentration), deals 2d8 damage per round, and has no save. If a Druid casts Heat metal from hiding at 60' on a knight and dashes away, then the ...
17
votes
3answers
10k views

Can you maintain concentration on a spell from another plane?

Here are two scenarios: A powerful enemy caster is concentrating on some high-level offensive spell (Incendiary Cloud, Earthquake, etc.)--one PC casts Banishment and the caster fails the save. Can ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a summoned pixie concentrate on a spell after the summoning ends?

If I summon a pixie with Conjure Woodland Beings, and it casts Fly on me, can it continue to concentrate on keeping me flying if my concentration on Conjure Woodland Beings ends and it disappears?
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Is the Summon Woodland Beings spell (to summon pixies) broken?

As a DM I want to be fair and not just never allow a druid the chance of summoning pixies, but it seems so broken. At one point I had four PCs and two NPCs all running about as dinosaurs. I'm hoping ...
9
votes
2answers
7k views

Can Call Lightning be used for the full 10 minutes while running away on a ship?

My Tempest Cleric will be on a ship voyage this week, if we get chased it would be nice to rain lightning bolts on the pursuers during the chase for the full duration of the spell (10 minutes). ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What can someone do while forced to doff armor from the heat metal spell

If an opponent fails a save on heated armor or weapons, do they have to start doffing their armor and dropping their weapons? The rules say you have to drop a heated weapon if you fail the save, but ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

What are the range and requirements of a Dismiss action?

Using his sharp ear to guide himself, the little cat walked gently across the unstable roof of the inn to the window where the conversation was closer. Even with the window closed, it was clearly the ...
13
votes
1answer
368 views

Is a spell suppressed or removed when the target temporarily becomes invalid?

Based on Jeremy Crawford's tweet, if a target is under the effect of an ongoing spell, and then the target changes such that it is no longer a valid target, the spell no longer effects them. But does ...
-1
votes
2answers
238 views

Does a Wall of Force block concentration on a spell?

If a spell was cast on a recipient prior to the wall of force being brought into existence, and that recipient was then on the other side of the wall from the caster, does wall of force prevent ...