Linked Questions

2
votes
2answers
217 views

What is the most (average) damage one character can do in one Round on its own to a Tarrasque?

Rules/Restrictions: Any race published is allowed. You may use the Customise Your Origin option from Tasha's Couldron of Everything. Any officially published Class by WotC is allowed as well as ...
26
votes
18answers
28k views

What's the maximum (average) damage that can be dealt in one round by a 20th level character with at least two levels of Fighter?

What is the most effective way to use a level 20 character's (with two or more levels in fighter for Action Surge ability) in order to maximize single target damage done in one round? Rules/...
3
votes
1answer
207 views

Assassinate ability and two-weapon fighting [duplicate]

I have been reading about this and am finding a lot of questions similar to what I'm asking, but they also all have extra components and I just want a simple answer. I think I already know but I am ...
39
votes
7answers
101k views

What advantages does hiding have?

It is possible to use the stealth skill to "hide" in D&D 5e. But are there any mechanical benefits to doing so? In combat, you gain advantage on an attack if your target can't see you, and confer ...
4
votes
2answers
899 views

How does the Gloom Stalker ranger's Dread Ambusher feature interact with Surprise?

In D&D 5e, if a Gloom Stalker Ranger uses their Dread Ambusher feature's secondary attack on a creature during a surprise round (whether on the same target or a different one), is that creature ...
60
votes
6answers
13k views

What happens when initiative allows a player to act before the player that started the combat?

This example is a somewhat simplified version of what happened during the last game I DMed for a bunch of friends. A party of PCs was trudging through the woods when they happened upon a very small ...
43
votes
7answers
8k views

What to do when surprise and a high initiative roll conflict with the narrative?

Consider the following situation. Two creatures A and B sneak up on a creature X, successfully remaining unnoticed by it. Without signalling this to B in any way, A then throws a dagger at X from its ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Assassinate come into play whenever the Rogue catches the target off guard?

The Assassinate ability under the Assassin subclass of Rogue states: Starting at 3rd level, you are at your deadliest when you get the drop on your enemies. You have advantage on attack rolls ...
19
votes
8answers
4k views

What's the correct way to determine turn order in this situation?

The situation: Four orcs, sitting around a campfire, are spotted by the party. Two more orcs are in a tent a couple meters away. The orcs do not notice the party. A Wizard casts invisibility on ...
3
votes
1answer
862 views

Does Assassinate grant two attacks?

I am playing a level 4 almost 5 Rogue Assassin. I have been trying to find out if Assassinate grants 2 attacks, say in the circumstance I fire my shortbow at a surprised enemy and Assassinate comes in ...
13
votes
2answers
38k views

Does the Rogue's Assassinate feature grant criticals on multiple attacks?

Does the Rogue's Assassinate feature (auto-crit on surprised targets) allow for multiple crits if you make multiple attacks that round, either through two-weapon fighting or extra attacks gained ...
2
votes
0answers
72 views

How to properly initiate combat when leading with an assassination as an Assassin Rogue? [duplicate]

I'm somewhat new to the game so sorry if this question is a stupid one and my english isn't the best either so pls excuse that as well ^^. That being said, I'm unsure how initiating combat with an ...
5
votes
2answers
704 views

Does the UA alternative ranger's Ambuscade affect his possible surprise on the opponent?

This question is about this UA alternative ranger. Ambuscade, by its meaning, is basically an ambush. If two characters, Alice and Bob, are interacting peacefully, and Alice suddenly attacks Bob, Bob ...
-2
votes
2answers
920 views

Can I use Assassination twice if I use it before combat initiative? [closed]

In my game I'm playing as a assassin rogue and I have just reached level three. My question is if I attack something in my understanding I get my assassination feature. If we then roll initiative and ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

How many attacks and other techniques can I make with the actions I have as a multiclassed Monk 6/Fighter 2/Rogue 3?

I am playing a multiclassed wood elf with the Charlatan background; my class levels are Monk 6, Fighter 2, and Rogue 3. Does this mean on my turn this can happen: Attack 1: Shortbow 2d6 + dex + 2d6 (...

15 30 50 per page