Linked Questions

59
votes
5answers
12k views

What happens when initiative allows a player to act before the player that started the combat?

This example is a somewhat simplified version of what happened during the last game I DMed for a bunch of friends. A party of PCs was trudging through the woods when they happened upon a very small ...
38
votes
6answers
7k views

What to do when surprise and a high initiative roll conflict with the narrative?

Consider the following situation. Two creatures A and B sneak up on a creature X, successfully remaining unnoticed by it. Without signalling this to B in any way, A then throws a dagger at X from its ...
38
votes
7answers
92k views

What advantages does hiding have?

It is possible to use the stealth skill to "hide" in D&D 5e. But are there any mechanical benefits to doing so? In combat, you gain advantage on an attack if your target can't see you, and confer ...
22
votes
17answers
17k views

What's the maximum (average) damage that can be dealt in one round by a 20th level character with at least two levels of Fighter?

What is the most effective way to use a level 20 character's (with two or more levels in fighter for Action Surge ability) in order to maximize single target damage done in one round? Rules/...
20
votes
4answers
26k views

What does Assassinate mean by “surprised”, and can it be used multiple times?

I need some elaboration on what is covered by "surprised". The Assassin Rogue’s special feature “Assassinate” states: …In addition, if you (...) hit a creature that is surprised, you score a ...
19
votes
8answers
4k views

What's the correct way to determine turn order in this situation?

The situation: Four orcs, sitting around a campfire, are spotted by the party. Two more orcs are in a tent a couple meters away. The orcs do not notice the party. A Wizard casts invisibility on ...
12
votes
2answers
978 views

Is there any way to remove Surprise?

At the beginning of an encounter, the DM determines which participants are surprised, then participants roll initiative. A feat like Alert allows a character to never be surprised while conscious. ...
11
votes
2answers
34k views

Does the Rogue's Assassinate feature grant criticals on multiple attacks?

Does the Rogue's Assassinate feature (auto-crit on surprised targets) allow for multiple crits if you make multiple attacks that round, either through two-weapon fighting or extra attacks gained ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Assassinate come into play whenever the Rogue catches the target off guard?

The Assassinate ability under the Assassin subclass of Rogue states: Starting at 3rd level, you are at your deadliest when you get the drop on your enemies. You have advantage on attack rolls ...
7
votes
1answer
490 views

How many Critical Hits for Assassinate? [duplicate]

I am currently Playing a Monk 8/ Rogue 4 The Rogue is an Assassin. pg97 of the PHB says that for assassinate the move In addition, any hit you score against a creature that is surprised is a ...
5
votes
2answers
486 views

Does the UA alternative ranger's Ambuscade affect his possible surprise on the opponent?

This question is about this UA alternative ranger. Ambuscade, by its meaning, is basically an ambush. If two characters, Alice and Bob, are interacting peacefully, and Alice suddenly attacks Bob, Bob ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

How many attacks and other techniques can I make with the actions I have as a multiclassed Monk 6/Fighter 2/Rogue 3?

I am playing a multiclassed wood elf with the Charlatan background; my class levels are Monk 6, Fighter 2, and Rogue 3. Does this mean on my turn this can happen: Attack 1: Shortbow 2d6 + dex ...
3
votes
1answer
650 views

Does Assassinate grant two attacks?

I am playing a level 4 almost 5 Rogue Assassin. I have been trying to find out if Assassinate grants 2 attacks, say in the circumstance I fire my shortbow at a surprised enemy and Assassinate comes in ...
2
votes
0answers
68 views

How to properly initiate combat when leading with an assassination as an Assassin Rogue? [duplicate]

I'm somewhat new to the game so sorry if this question is a stupid one and my english isn't the best either so pls excuse that as well ^^. That being said, I'm unsure how initiating combat with an ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

When being Unaware ends after surprise round? [duplicate]

In D&D 5e we have surprise round effective until it is ended. On that first round characters that are not surprised can act as in normal round. Those unaware of them (thus surprised) grant them ...

15 30 50 per page