Linked Questions

66 votes
9 answers

What options do I have for changing my character's sex?

In a campaign I'm playing, the rest of the party and I have a recurring need for drops of Royal Blood. (Nothing devious; it opens doors) We have, collectively, decided that the best way to secure a ...
Raven Dreamer's user avatar
38 votes
5 answers

What is the meaning of 'permanent' in description of True Polymorph?

Following on from this question: Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?) Casting True Polymorph on an unwilling creature (relevant parts included only): You ...
Temp's user avatar
  • 9,310
32 votes
5 answers

How hard is to dispel spell that was made permanent by casting it every day for a year with different spell slots?

Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum, Teleportation Circle, and possibly other spells have text like: You can create a permanent teleportation circle by casting this spell in the same location every day ...
Mołot's user avatar
  • 24.7k
25 votes
3 answers

Can you continue to play an Adventurers League character who was True Polymorphed into a monster?

If your character is transformed into a monster by true polymorph, can you legally continue playing them if the effect isn't dispelled? If not, then what are the ways to be reverted if the session ...
Mikko's user avatar
  • 221
36 votes
2 answers

Can I True Polymorph a goblin into adamantine (and then forge him into a sword?)

Is it possible to make crafting materials, like adamantine, out of a goblin or such using the True Polymorph spell for the full duration of the spell? On a side note, while adamantine is mentioned in ...
Korack's user avatar
  • 1,553
15 votes
5 answers

Is it possible to possess a non-humanoid creature with a combination of True Polymorph and Magic Jar?

True polymorph says: Creature into Creature. If you turn a creature into another kind of creature, the new form can be any kind you choose whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’...
AntiDrondert's user avatar
  • 1,833
26 votes
1 answer

As of the November 2018 core book updates, what changes were made in the latest printings of the PHB that aren't noted in the errata document?

The D&D 5e core books were updated with a new printing as of November 2018 (alongside the release of the Core Rules Gift Set), as can be seen from a number of new questions and updated answers ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 50k
13 votes
1 answer

Can Plant Growth be repeatedly cast on the same area to exponentially increase the yield of harvests there (more than twice)?

I was looking into getting the spell Plant Growth because we work with some agrarian societies in our campaign. If you cast the 8-hour version that enriches plants in a 1 mile radius to double their ...
Hartmanclan's user avatar
22 votes
2 answers

What is the difference, if any, between "Permanent", and "Until Dispelled"?

Some spells, such as Forbiddance, say that under certain circumstances, they last "Until Dispelled". Other spells, such as Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum, say that under certain circumstances, they ...
Strill's user avatar
  • 10.7k
10 votes
4 answers

Can True Polymorph create rare inks?

I am a level 20 wizard and have been using the True Polymorph spell to create expensive spell components. However my DM, who will never overrule RAW, has recently created a spell which requires "rare ...
Timi's user avatar
  • 4,321
8 votes
3 answers

Can Mimics be "created"?

Okay, obligatory "I'm a very new DM and may have missed information available to me/this might be a stupid question". Essentially, I want to know if it's possible to create a mimic, say via a ritual ...
Elias's user avatar
  • 81
8 votes
1 answer

Can killing the spellcaster undo a 'permanent' True Polymorph?

So I have a character (E) that, Many years ago, was True Polymorphed into an elf so his also-elven spouse (N) wouldn't outlive him so drastically. The result ended in E being roughly thirty years ...
Talisman's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer

Does a Clone spell work on a (True) Polymorphed creature? If so, to what effect?

The spell true polymorph ends when dispelled - even when the creature has been in their 'new' shape for hundreds of years. According to the Clone spell, any such polymorphed creature should still be ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers

If a dragon becomes a shadow dragon, would it still be subject to a previously cast True Polymorph's reversal?

Story / example: A Harpy gets Truly Polymorphed into a wyrmling Brass dragon - albeit a bit of a weird one, what with her harpy-like personality and alignment. As an avid reader of StackExchange she ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar