Linked Questions

7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you polymorph to a creature that is wearing armor?

Can you polymorph to a creature that is wearing armor? In game GM polymorphed an NPC to an armored sabretooth tiger (plate armor). Is that legal?. The NPC would turn into a regular sabretooth with no ...
Jhyarelle Silver's user avatar
20 votes
6 answers
7k views

DM is asking me to drop my character because it is from A Song of Ice and Fire

Background I have started playing with a new group in a new D&D campaign. I have been reading the A Song of Ice and Fire books and really liked the Greyjoy plotlines, so I decided to make my ...
NielIGuess's user avatar
21 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does immunity to conditions imposed by layers of a Prismatic Wall give immunity to that layer's further consequences?

In a fairly high stakes scenario, I (DM) put a Prismatic Wall in a party's way. It goes off, does Prismatic Wall things, one person is hit by the Indigo and Violet layers and here we develop a problem....
David Windrim's user avatar
15 votes
1 answer
828 views

Is there any lore explanation in Forgotten Realms for the change from Infravision to Darkvision?

A long time ago, some races and monsters had the Infravision trait, which allowed them to see in the dark the heat traces of living creatures. This had very interesting aspects. The drow's sign ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 30k
1 vote
1 answer
425 views

When is it appropriate to contest a DM? [closed]

Ι am struggling to find helpful information about when it is appropriate for a player to challenge a DM's decision. There was a recent question which triggered this "old chestnut" for me: ...
Senmurv's user avatar
  • 9,670
43 votes
7 answers
9k views

How do I get a new player to stop rewriting my game to match his favorite fiction?

I have a D&D 5e game that I've been running for a year that is on pause because some players don't want to play online or go outside (stupid plague ruining my tabletop). So I offered my son and ...
Gramor Fale's user avatar
  • 1,217
3 votes
3 answers
12k views

What happened to Eladrin? Did something make them unavailable to play?

I made an Eladrin Ranger and the DM wouldn't allow it. I'm confused. Did something happen to Eladrin? I'm wondering because none of my three gaming groups' DMs would allow my character. They just ...
SantaClawsTheNecromancer's user avatar
11 votes
4 answers
3k views

Is it okay to retroactively change things when running a published adventure?

This question came out of another post on here of mine, so there may be some similarities. An answerer/commenter on that question suggested splitting it off, so here goes: I'm a new DM, using Lost ...
Keven M's user avatar
  • 321
22 votes
6 answers
7k views

Am I allowed to determine tenets of my contract as a warlock?

A friend of mine invited me to a short campaign. I chose to play as a Hexblade warlock since I thought that it would be interesting to have a sentient weapon as a patron. As part of my character I ...
Maiko Chikyu's user avatar
  • 21.3k
84 votes
14 answers
32k views

What should I do about a religious player who refuses to accept the existence of multiple gods in D&D?

I am working on a campaign which I am going to run for a group of friends, all of whom are new to D&D. I was discussing available classes with one of the players, more specifically classes with ...
eeeee's user avatar
  • 809
4 votes
0 answers
165 views

Should bards have to pay for their colleges? [closed]

I think that since a college is really just a 'club' or grouping of sorts of bards, it doesn't count as a 'college' in the modern sense of the term. My DM is telling me I have to pay for my College of ...
Audrenna's user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can a DM deny your background if it's from a book? [closed]

My Dungeon Master and I have been at arms for a week now since she allowed another player to kill me while I was away from the game, sick. Now that I've built my new character, she tells me that I ...
Daniel-Joseph Sauve's user avatar
20 votes
2 answers
5k views

Can a reaction interrupt multiattack?

Last night, an Owlbear attacked us. It was injured, then attacked my Warlock. Obviously it uses its Multiattack action (MM, pg. 249): Multiattack. The owlbear makes two attacks: one with its beak and ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.1k
15 votes
3 answers
6k views

Was this “severe" metagaming or cheating per Adventurers League rules? [closed]

It is the night before our last session to finish Tomb of Annihilation. For the previous three sessions we had seen things in the tomb that gave us a clue to what creature we might face. [spoilers] ...
Praxiteles's user avatar
13 votes
2 answers
11k views

Battle Master fighter's Trip Attack when the target is already dead from the regular hit?

The Battle Master fighter has the Trip Attack maneuver (PHB, p. 74): When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to knock the target down. You add ...
AshRandom's user avatar
  • 4,423

15 30 50 per page