Linked Questions

3
votes
0answers
62 views

Mounted combat - move, attack, disengage, move. Possible? [duplicate]

Paladin, Mounted Combatant feat, Great axe, riding a Warhorse. I'd like to ride 30ft to the mob, bash him with my axe, have the steed disengage, and ride 30ft back. Can I do this? Jeremy seems to ...
20
votes
6answers
22k views

Can a rider move using his mount, attack from his mount, then have the mount dash away?

I seem to have misunderstood the mounted combat rules. Reading them again it seems that the mount and rider are treated as separate entities but share initiative (this assumes a controlled mount, not ...
13
votes
3answers
4k views

Is there a 5e equivalent of the mounted lancers in 3.5?

I'm porting some content from 3.5e to 5e, and I've come to a part that has a group of npc paladins doing mounted combat with lances. Checking the 5e rules for lances, I don't see anything about doing ...
16
votes
3answers
3k views

Is initiative ordinal or numerical?

Is the term “initiative” in D&D 5e combat the number that you roll, or your order in the combat turn?
11
votes
2answers
2k views

About “dropping” a weapon after an attack

Let's say that after making an attack with my lance by stabbing it into an enemy, I leave the lance there (stab it into the enemy and just let go). Is this considered dropping the lance? And as such, ...
10
votes
2answers
609 views

What happens when two creatures actually share the same turn?

Related to this Q/A ("Does a controlled mount share its rider's turn?") where there doesn't seem to be a consensus on whether or not the rider and their mount actually share a turn. I am left ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

Can you use your own movement separately from your mount's movement?

SevenSidedDie and myself came up with a quandary concerning Mounted Combat, or any mount at all, actually. When moving while riding, a mount that has been trained to take a rider or is otherwise ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

When a controlled mount takes the Disengage action, does the rider still provoke an opportunity attack if he or she does not also Disengage?

Per the rules for mounted combat: The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action options: Dash, Disengage,...
13
votes
2answers
626 views

How does the Sentinel feat interact with the Mounted Combatant feat?

When a character with the Sentinel feat hits with an opportunity attack against an opponent with Mounted Combatant, does the mounted opponent need to stop moving? The Sentinel feat (PHB, page 169) ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

How does a Gnome Battle Smith artificer (UA) riding his iron defender control it?

I don't see any reason a gnome Battle Smith artificer (from the May 2019 UA) couldn't ride his iron defender RAW--it's got the appropriate anatomy and is one size larger. But how is it "Controlled"? ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

Does a Steel Defender mounted by an artificer still get its actions, if commanded?

Playing a human artificer battle smith with the spell Enlarge/Reduce, I want to use the Steel Defender as a mount. It is a medium size construct that becomes large size under the effects of the spell. ...
10
votes
2answers
220 views

Can I use Two-Weapon Fighting on my mount's turn?

Can I use the Ready action on my turn to specify that I will make a melee attack once in range of an enemy, use my mount to get to the enemy, attack the enemy with one melee weapon, and then also ...
6
votes
1answer
338 views

Moon Beam Damage Calculation for Multiple Targets

In D&D-5e, suppose my character casts moonbeam and two enemies start their turn inside the beam's radius. Would each creature's damage be calculated separately (2d10 for one and 2d10 for the ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

How does mounted combat interact with the Charger feat?

I saw that someone on Reddit asked about the Charger feat while on a mount. I understand that using Dash with the mount's action isn't counted as you dashing according to the rules. However, does the ...