Linked Questions

0
votes
1answer
2k views

Can you cast a spell learned through the Magic Initiate feat with your regular spell slots? [duplicate]

The Player's Handbook states that: Once you cast it this way [with the feat], you must finish a long rest before you can cast it in this way again. With the new errata for the PHB, it says: ...
1
vote
1answer
718 views

Can I cast a Magic Initiate spell using my own spell slots if the spell is also in my class spell list? [duplicate]

yes, I know, this question is very similar to others I've found. Can you cast a magic initiate spell using spell slots? The above post concludes that if the caster does not choose their own class, ...
2
votes
0answers
108 views

Can a Sorcerer Gain Additional Spells Known with Magic Initiate? [duplicate]

The Magic Initiate feat states: Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class's spell list. In addition, choose one ...
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can you use your once a day Lv1 Spell with Magic Initiate feat with a higher spell slot you have if you are a caster class? [duplicate]

Can you use you once a day Lv1 Spell with Magic Initiate feat with a higher spell slot you have if you are a caster class? EX: If Wizard with Magic Initiate feat hand chose the Lv1 Chromatic Orb spell ...
2
votes
0answers
37 views

Can I cast Magic Initiate spells from another class using the Pact Magic feature? [duplicate]

If I have a Warlock who takes magic initiate in cleric and chooses cure wounds as the first level spell, could I use my Warlock spell slots to cast that spell as well as the 1/day casting of cure ...
24
votes
3answers
11k views

If you have the ability to cast a spell without a spell slot, can you cast that spell using a spell slot?

A 10th level Drow warlock (for instance) has the following Drow Magic racial trait (PHB p. 24), in addition to its warlock spellcasting abilities: You know the dancing lights cantrip. When you reach ...
15
votes
2answers
25k views

What is the best damage you can do with a 9th level Magic Missile?

So one of this question's To maximize a combo with True Strike, which is the most damaging spell with attack roll? answers got me curious. What is the maximum damage a 20th level character can do with ...
16
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a Wizard take the Magic Initiate feat and select spells from the Wizard list?

If a Wizard takes the Magic Initiate feat (PHB, p. 168), can he select 2 cantrips and a level 1 spell from the Wizard list? Or does he have to take them from a different class?
24
votes
2answers
6k views

Can you retrain the Magic Initiate spell using the Spellcasting feature?

This question got me thinking about the mechanics of the Magic Initiate feat when you have class levels in the class into which you were inducted. Among the classes you can pick with this feat are ...
12
votes
4answers
3k views

Is there a way to scale the 1st level spell from Magic Initiate to keep up with cantrips?

So, my Cleric 4 character (just leveled up) wants to take the Magic Initiate feat sorcerer class. However, he asked about the 1st level spell that he gets because the firebolt cantrip he chose would ...
18
votes
2answers
6k views

Can I use spell slots to cast the spell granted from the Fey Teleportation feat additional times?

I have a high-elf wizard with the Fey Teleportation feat. According to the feat "You learn the Misty Step spell, and can cast it once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast it ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you use Magic Initiate to cast a spell you already know, and still learn another spell?

I have a wizard PC who wants to gain the feat Magic Initiate and use free 1st level spell to use mage armour once a day. He already knows Mage armour, so: Can he use the Feat to gain a free casting ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Is this change to the Magic Initiate feat unbalancing?

The Magic Initiate feat states: Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn two cantrips of your choice from that class's list. In addition, choose one 1st level ...
12
votes
1answer
628 views

Can an Arcane Trickster or Eldritch Knight with the Magic Initiate feat (picking the wizard list) use spell slots to cast the chosen 1st-level spell?

A bard who takes the Magic Initiate feat and chooses the bard spell list for the feat can use spell slots to cast the 1st-level spell they learn from the feat. A wizard who takes the feat and chooses ...
-1
votes
2answers
618 views

Does the 1st-level spell you can cast using the Magic Initiate feat need spell slots?

I'm having a hard time understanding how the Magic Initiate feat works; does it require spell slots? The feat doesn't say the spell cast is free; it only says you can cast it at its lowest level once ...

15 30 50 per page