Linked Questions

19 votes
7 answers
4k views

Do/did any major RPGs have "hidden rules" or "spells that do things other than what they say"?

It is extremely common for answers on this site to quote either "There are no hidden rules", "Spells do only what they say they do", or often both (example), almost always ...
Tektotherriggen's user avatar
23 votes
5 answers
14k views

Does a wizard need to hold a component pouch or focus in one hand in order for it to work?

One of my PCs is a (weird) wizard who is frequently switching quickly between items—one turn he's wielding a quarterstaff two-handed, the next he's got a component pouch and a dagger, and after that, ...
Robert's user avatar
  • 12.9k
39 votes
3 answers
3k views

What balance problems arise by allowing grappling as an option for an Opportunity Attack?

In our last session (with me as the DM), a creature was surrounded by the party and was trying to flee. She cast Levitate on herself to try to float up and get away. As she was going up and thereby ...
user avatar
10 votes
5 answers
2k views

Can you use your free object interaction while restrained?

If a character is restrained, like being in the gullet of a froghemoth, and they attempt to pull out a different weapon, I assume they could drop what they were holding, but since their speed is zero, ...
JJustinM's user avatar
  • 109
27 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does a surprised creature obey the 1st-level spell Command?

The description of the Command spell says: You speak a one-word command to a creature you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or follow the command on its next ...
Nicbobo's user avatar
  • 6,648
20 votes
4 answers
15k views

Can a Bard cast spells with both hands full?

I was looking at Valor bards and saw they get shield proficiency later. It seems to cater to the person wanting to play a more melee-oriented bard, but I see one major problem and want to see if ...
MonopolyLegend's user avatar
35 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can a surprised creature fall prone voluntarily on their turn?

Suppose someone might want their character to drop prone while they're surprised. The relevant text from Being Prone under "Movement and Position" states: You can drop prone without using any of ...
linksassin's user avatar
  • 30.9k
14 votes
3 answers
6k views

Is it an action or free object interaction to drop a backpack?

In our current campaign we are being asked to track encumbrance, as I think would be sensible in this situation most of the non-battle essential items will either be in or attached to the backpack. ...
Shaun's user avatar
  • 243
11 votes
3 answers
4k views

About "dropping" a weapon after an attack

Let's say that after making an attack with my lance by stabbing it into an enemy, I leave the lance there (stab it into the enemy and just let go). Is this considered dropping the lance? And as such, ...
Curios Maximus's user avatar
16 votes
3 answers
3k views

Can you use a weapon affected by Heat Metal each turn if you drop it in between?

This is a theoretical situation, but I wanted public opinion on the ruling. Heat Metal states (ignoring the "At Higher Levels" part): Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or ...
Mister B's user avatar
  • 1,986
11 votes
4 answers
2k views

Would an Armorer artificer have to use their action to doff their Arcane Armor if told to do so via the Command spell?

Just a thought experiment I had while I was working on my Armorer artificer. There's a part about their Arcane Armor feature that specifies they can don or doff the armor as an action (TCoE, p. 15-16)....
TheMonkeFist's user avatar
11 votes
3 answers
2k views

Can you drop a weapon/item when it is not your turn?

Thought of while contemplating this question on whether you can drop prone off your turn, I am wondering if you can drop a weapon/item. This Q/A claims that dropping a weapon is a free action, but I ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
14 votes
1 answer
12k views

Does switching between using a versatile weapon one-handed to two-handed cost anything with regards to the action economy?

The versatile weapon property says (PHB, p. 147): Versatile. This weapon can be used with one or two hands. A damage value in parentheses appears with the property–the damage when the weapon is used ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79k
7 votes
1 answer
11k views

Best equipment for Crossbow Expert for highest total damage in rounds 1–3?

Crossbow Expert: When you use the Attack action and attack with a one handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding. So the hand crossbow can be ...
András's user avatar
  • 64.1k
7 votes
4 answers
2k views

With Extra Attack, can I grapple an opponent and attack with offhand dagger?

I attack an enemy using a dagger with my right hand, drop it, then grapple the enemy using my right hand (Extra Attack). Using the Two-Weapon Fighting rule: When you take the Attack action and ...
Vylix's user avatar
  • 32.6k

15 30 50 per page