Linked Questions

22
votes
5answers
10k views

Does a wizard need to hold a component pouch or focus in one hand in order for it to work?

One of my PCs is a (weird) wizard who is frequently switching quickly between items—one turn he's wielding a quarterstaff two-handed, the next he's got a component pouch and a dagger, and after that, ...
39
votes
3answers
3k views

What balance problems arise by allowing grappling as an option for an Opportunity Attack?

In our last session (with me as the DM), a creature was surrounded by the party and was trying to flee. She cast Levitate on herself to try to float up and get away. As she was going up and thereby ...
10
votes
5answers
2k views

Can you use your free object interaction while restrained?

If a character is restrained, like being in the gullet of a froghemoth, and they attempt to pull out a different weapon, I assume they could drop what they were holding, but since their speed is zero, ...
25
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a surprised creature obey the 1st-level spell Command?

The description of the Command spell says: You speak a one-word command to a creature you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or follow the command on its next ...
18
votes
4answers
12k views

Can a Bard cast spells with both hands full?

I was looking at Valor bards and saw they get shield proficiency later. It seems to cater to the person wanting to play a more melee-oriented bard, but I see one major problem and want to see if ...
34
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a surprised creature fall prone voluntarily on their turn?

Suppose someone might want their character to drop prone while they're surprised. The relevant text from Being Prone under "Movement and Position" states: You can drop prone without using any of ...
14
votes
3answers
3k views

Is it an action or free object interaction to drop a backpack?

In our current campaign we are being asked to track encumbrance, as I think would be sensible in this situation most of the non-battle essential items will either be in or attached to the backpack. ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you use a weapon affected by Heat Metal each turn if you drop it in between?

This is a theoretical situation, but I wanted public opinion on the ruling. Heat Metal states (ignoring the "At Higher Levels" part): Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or ...
7
votes
1answer
7k views

Best equipment for Crossbow Expert for highest total damage in rounds 1–3?

Crossbow Expert: When you use the Attack action and attack with a one handed weapon, you can use a bonus action to attack with a loaded hand crossbow you are holding. So the hand crossbow can be ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you drop a weapon/item when it is not your turn?

Thought of while contemplating this question on whether you can drop prone off your turn, I am wondering if you can drop a weapon/item. This Q/A claims that dropping a weapon is a free action, but I ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Are there rules for attaching weapons to mounts or characters?

Let's say Bobby has a shield in his left hand and a whip in his right hand. Bobby also has a couple of nets, and is mounted on his favorite pony. It's Bobby's turn, and he sees an enemy within reach ...
7
votes
4answers
1k views

With Extra Attack, can I grapple an opponent and attack with offhand dagger?

I attack an enemy using a dagger with my right hand, drop it, then grapple the enemy using my right hand (Extra Attack). Using the Two-Weapon Fighting rule: When you take the Attack action and ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Does switching between using a versatile weapon one-handed to two-handed cost anything with regards to the action economy?

The versatile weapon property says (PHB, p. 147): Versatile. This weapon can be used with one or two hands. A damage value in parentheses appears with the property–the damage when the weapon is used ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

When under the effect of a Suggestion spell, at what point does the target perform the suggested action?

First, a recap of the description of the suggestion spell after the target has failed the saving throw: On a failed save, it pursues the course of action you described to the best of its ability. ...
8
votes
2answers
794 views

RAW, can a 3rd level sword-and-board eldritch knight usefully cast Absorb Elements?

I often see Absorb Elements (AE) mentioned as a useful spell for an Eldritch Knight (EK), because it gives you temporary resistance to one type of damage and lets you add that type of damage to your ...

15 30 50 per page