Linked Questions

21 votes
7 answers
5k views

Do/did any major RPGs have "hidden rules" or "spells that do things other than what they say"?

It is extremely common for answers on this site to quote either "There are no hidden rules", "Spells do only what they say they do", or often both (example), almost always ...
11 votes
4 answers
2k views

Would an Armorer artificer have to use their action to doff their Arcane Armor if told to do so via the Command spell?

Just a thought experiment I had while I was working on my Armorer artificer. There's a part about their Arcane Armor feature that specifies they can don or doff the armor as an action (TCoE, p. 15-16)....
11 votes
1 answer
4k views

When under the effect of a Suggestion spell, at what point does the target perform the suggested action?

First, a recap of the description of the suggestion spell after the target has failed the saving throw: On a failed save, it pursues the course of action you described to the best of its ability. ...
11 votes
3 answers
4k views

About "dropping" a weapon after an attack

Let's say that after making an attack with my lance by stabbing it into an enemy, I leave the lance there (stab it into the enemy and just let go). Is this considered dropping the lance? And as such, ...
3 votes
1 answer
322 views

From how far away can I attack an opponent, after dismounting and using Shield Master?

I have a lvl 6 Half Orc Paladin with the Shield Master feat riding a worg. The paladin has a speed of 30ft, the worg has 50ft. I move forward \$x\$ft and attack the opponent with my lance, dealing ...
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can you take an item from your backpack and place it on the ground with your Free Object Interaction?

A situation came up: someone wanted to take an object from their backpack and place it on the ground for someone else. They also gave instructions to a fellow character to come over and get it and how ...
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

RAW, can a 3rd level sword-and-board eldritch knight usefully cast Absorb Elements?

I often see Absorb Elements (AE) mentioned as a useful spell for an Eldritch Knight (EK), because it gives you temporary resistance to one type of damage and lets you add that type of damage to your ...
23 votes
5 answers
15k views

Does a wizard need to hold a component pouch or focus in one hand in order for it to work?

One of my PCs is a (weird) wizard who is frequently switching quickly between items—one turn he's wielding a quarterstaff two-handed, the next he's got a component pouch and a dagger, and after that, ...
4 votes
1 answer
2k views

As a sword-and-board Eldritch Knight fighter, do I need to put away my sword on my turn if I want to cast the Shield spell as a reaction?

Without the War Caster feat, I can't cast spells with somatic components if I have both a shield and a sword in my hands. Putting my sword away or dropping it is a free action; however, you can't do ...
3 votes
2 answers
621 views

Does interaction with a magic necklace count as an action in combat?

I'm playing in Curse of Strahd module, and there is an item named the holy symbol of ravenkind. This item hides behind the paladin’s shirt. When the paladin is in the a middle of the combat and has ...
0 votes
1 answer
738 views

Drop an Item Action [closed]

Interacting with one item is free. Interacting with two items is not. This leads to the odd case that if I have an apple in one hand and a flagon in the other I can drop either but not both. ...
10 votes
5 answers
2k views

Can you use your free object interaction while restrained?

If a character is restrained, like being in the gullet of a froghemoth, and they attempt to pull out a different weapon, I assume they could drop what they were holding, but since their speed is zero, ...
20 votes
4 answers
15k views

Can a Bard cast spells with both hands full?

I was looking at Valor bards and saw they get shield proficiency later. It seems to cater to the person wanting to play a more melee-oriented bard, but I see one major problem and want to see if ...
14 votes
3 answers
6k views

Is it an action or free object interaction to drop a backpack?

In our current campaign we are being asked to track encumbrance, as I think would be sensible in this situation most of the non-battle essential items will either be in or attached to the backpack. ...
5 votes
1 answer
356 views

Can I drop an object and cast Catapult on the same turn?

I'd like to drop an object weighing 1-5 pounds and use my action to cast Catapult on the item. PH 190 details Other Activity on your turn, and interacting with an object is included on that list. Can ...

15 30 50 per page