Linked Questions

5
votes
3answers
210 views

If a Shadow sorcerer's Hound of Ill Omen “can use its action only to attack its target”, what exactly is it allowed to do?

I have a few questions regarding what falls under the category of "attack[ing] its target" for the Shadow Magic sorcerer's Hound of Ill Omen feature, which summons a hound to target a single ...
5
votes
2answers
338 views

Does playing magical music count as casting a spell?

So in DnD 5e, my bard character happened upon some fragments of a musical composition. When my character tried playing it, it caused some sonic-charged magical effect. My question is--specifically in ...
4
votes
4answers
501 views

Do the rules explicitly say that there can be no critical hit without an attack roll?

Critical hits are introduced in the PHB under "Attack Rolls": If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target's AC. This is called a ...
21
votes
4answers
32k views

Would a Rogue's Uncanny Dodge feature halve the damage of a Magic Missile spell?

This came up during a game this weekend where the rogue player claimed that, since she was taking damage from it and she could see where the "attack" was coming from, she could reduce that ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a multiclassed rogue/Arcane Archer fighter use Sneak Attack on a Piercing Arrow?

If a multi-classed rogue/Arcane Archer fighter (XGtE) is using the Piercing Arrow option for Arcane Shot, can he use Sneak Attack on one of the creatures damaged by the effect? Can he do it even if ...
16
votes
1answer
25k views

Can a familiar from the Find Familiar spell use Dragon's Breath?

One of the new spells from Xanathar's Guide to Everything is Dragon's Breath. Even though the spell is attacking, nowhere in the spell description does it specifically say that you are attacking with ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Hexblade warlock's Armor of Hexes feature be used to cancel a ranged spell attack?

Can Armor of Hexes be used to cancel a ranged spell attack like scorching ray? Does one ray count as an attack roll because you roll to hit? The Hexblade warlock's Armor of Hexes feature says (XGtE, p....
10
votes
4answers
4k views

Is “Shove” an attack?

This question is prompted by reading this answer to a question about using the Polearm Master feat's bonus action after a Shove and halberd Attack In the section "Making an Attack" (PHB, page 194): ...
14
votes
2answers
11k views

Does a Grapple or Shove count as an attack for the Mobile feat?

The Mobile feat enables you to not get opportunity attacks from creatures you try to attack. Does it still apply if the attack you made was a Grapple or Shove ?
-1
votes
1answer
176 views

Are the “power word” spells an attack, and how do they interact with mirror image?

Mirror Image (p260 PHB) Says: Each time a creature targets you with an attack during the spell's duration, roll a d20 to determine whether the attack instead targets one of your duplicates.... ....A ...
80
votes
3answers
11k views

What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?

What exactly is the difference between Attack action and attack? It seems each time a question regarding this pops up, there's always somebody arguing they are not different. I feel there should be a ...
35
votes
8answers
28k views

Does Mirror Image affect spells that have no attack roll?

I have two questions concerning the mirror image spell. If I am under the effect of mirror image and was targeted by a spell like blight, do I roll a 1d20 to determine whether myself or an image was ...
14
votes
3answers
3k views

Is the damage from Conjure Volley magical?

Conjure Volley is a 5th level Ranger spell: You fire a piece of non magical ammunition from a ranged weapon or throw a non magical weapon into the air and choose a point within range. Hundreds of ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

When two-weapon fighting, can a Battle Master fighter use a maneuver on the Attack action and another on the bonus-action attack?

The Battle Master fighter's Combat Superiority feature states that “you can use only one maneuver per attack” (PHB 73), but I’m unsure how that applies in the case of two-weapon fighting. Is ...
1
vote
1answer
88 views

Does an savethrow-type attack cause critical damage for an unconscious creature? [duplicate]

The unconscious state description says Any attack that hits the creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature. Situation Target ...

15 30 50 per page