Linked Questions

13
votes
4answers
3k views

If Witch Bolt initially hits a target that has cast Mirror Image, does the ongoing damage hit the actual target automatically?

In my campaign, a character used witch bolt against an illusionist and hit, dealing 12 damage. The illusionist proceeded to cast mirror image. Witch bolt states: On a hit, the target takes 1d12 ...
11
votes
4answers
11k views

Does Channel Divinity / Turn Undead break sanctuary?

RAW for Sanctuary breaking are as follows: If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends. Is channel divinity "casting a spell"?
19
votes
1answer
28k views

Can a familiar from the Find Familiar spell use Dragon's Breath?

One of the new spells from Xanathar's Guide to Everything is Dragon's Breath. Even though the spell is attacking, nowhere in the spell description does it specifically say that you are attacking with ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Does touching someone or stealing something from them end the Invisibility spell on you?

A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target's person. The spell ends for a target that attacks ...
16
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the Ranger's Favoured Foe Ability from Tasha's work with Cantrips?

I have an idea for a wisdom based Horizon Walker. I was thinking of taking shillelagh and produce flame from the Druidic Warrior fighting style. Produce flame is purely so that I at least have one ...
14
votes
2answers
12k views

Does a Grapple or Shove count as an attack for the Mobile feat?

The Mobile feat enables you to not get opportunity attacks from creatures you try to attack. Does it still apply if the attack you made was a Grapple or Shove ?
26
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if I try to grapple an illusory duplicate from the Mirror Image spell?

A grapple attempt is an attack - a special melee attack: When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the Green Flame-Blade cantrip work with the Zephyr Strike spell?

Does the Green-Flame Blade cantrip work with the Zephyr Strike spell? Specifically, I am unsure as to whether the Zephyr Strike spell (XGtE, p. 171) requires you take the Attack action. Its ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Can the Hexblade warlock's Armor of Hexes feature be used to cancel a ranged spell attack?

Can Armor of Hexes be used to cancel a ranged spell attack like scorching ray? Does one ray count as an attack roll because you roll to hit? The Hexblade warlock's Armor of Hexes feature says (XGtE, p....
10
votes
1answer
1k views

When two-weapon fighting, can a Battle Master fighter use a maneuver on the Attack action and another on the bonus-action attack?

The Battle Master fighter's Combat Superiority feature states that “you can use only one maneuver per attack” (PHB 73), but I’m unsure how that applies in the case of two-weapon fighting. Is ...
14
votes
3answers
3k views

Is the damage from Conjure Volley magical?

Conjure Volley is a 5th level Ranger spell: You fire a piece of non magical ammunition from a ranged weapon or throw a non magical weapon into the air and choose a point within range. Hundreds of ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Can a multiclassed rogue/Arcane Archer fighter use Sneak Attack on a Piercing Arrow?

If a multi-classed rogue/Arcane Archer fighter (XGtE) is using the Piercing Arrow option for Arcane Shot, can he use Sneak Attack on one of the creatures damaged by the effect? Can he do it even if ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

Do traps deal weapon damage?

This is mostly for the sake of blade ward, and other effects, that state: You have resistance against bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage dealt by weapons. However, traps may include things ...
10
votes
4answers
2k views

Can the Mage Hand cantrip be used to pull someone's pants down as a prank?

Inspired by Can mage hand be used to trip an enemy who is running away?, and possibly an alternative solution to that problem. My bard is an obnoxious jerk who enjoys a laugh at anyone else's expense....
4
votes
4answers
572 views

Do the rules explicitly say that there can be no critical hit without an attack roll?

Critical hits are introduced in the PHB under "Attack Rolls": If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target's AC. This is called a ...

15 30 50 per page