Linked Questions

21 votes
4 answers

What is the highest-level spell that can be cast without a spell slot an unlimited number of times?

An 18th-level wizard gains a 2nd-level signature spell. This stipulates that they can "cast those spells at their lowest level without expending a spell slot when you have them prepared". ...
Dynobomb's user avatar
  • 1,228
18 votes
5 answers

Can a Simulacrum cast Wish?

This question was provoked by a discussion in the comments of my answer to this question: What is the maximum number of Simulacra I can have? (the discussion itself has now been removed). The wish ...
Ladifas's user avatar
  • 8,979
16 votes
8 answers

How can I set up a long-range alarm for my fortress?

My wizard is building a large, magically defended fortress. I have many powerful wards and defenses protecting it, but there's one large weakness - if I'm not in my fortress, I have no way to tell if ...
Dacromir's user avatar
  • 10.3k
14 votes
3 answers

How many spiders can a player character have through class features, spells, etc?

I've been considering making a character who is obsessed with spiders! I want to know how many spiders a player character can have at any one time through spells, class features, etc. (so not by ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.1k
14 votes
1 answer

What's the biggest choir I can create within 24 hours?

So I kind of forgot that tomorrow is the birthday of my dear mother-in-law, and I (stupidly in hindsight) promised I would show her "the biggest choir anyone could ever make, no humans required&...
Tobias F.'s user avatar
  • 2,228
11 votes
1 answer

Would a simulacrum created by a simulacrum of a caster that can cast simulacrum remain behind if the original simulacrum is destroyed? [duplicate]

A simulacrum of a caster can use magic, or this line would not make sense: [...] nor can it regain expended Spell Slots. But a caster can only have one simulacrum: If you cast this spell again, ...
Mindwin Remember Monica's user avatar
9 votes
1 answer

Does a Genie Warlock's Simulacrum regain their Mystic Arcanum and Limited Wish?

The situation is this: A Genie Warlock comes up with an elaborate scheme relying on multiple uses of his Mystic Arcanum; Wish. They know that this can be only cast once a day, but the wizard gave them ...
Victor B's user avatar
  • 7,398
9 votes
2 answers

Would creating a Simulacrum duplicate the effects of the Fates card from the Deck of Many Things?

The text of Simulacrum states: [The Simulacrum] appears to be the same as the original, but it has half the creature's hit point maximum and is formed without any equipment. Otherwise, the illusion ...
Tack's user avatar
  • 6,576
7 votes
4 answers

Is there a way to increase the maximum number of spells a level 20 wizard, druid or cleric can prepare?

These three spellcasting classes can prepare a number of spells equal to their relevant ability score modifier + their class level. This means that at level 20 they could prepare 25 spells assuming ...
Purple Monkey's user avatar
6 votes
2 answers

Does a dragon need material components, specifically body bits, for a Simulacrum spell?

Please consider an ancient Green dragon with the variant ability to cast spells. She would like to cast Simulacrum. Monster Manual Page 86 / Variant: VARIANT: DRAGONS AS INNATE SPELLCASTERS: Dragons ...
Timm Jimm Grimm's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer

What happens if I use the Twinned Spell metamagic on Simulacrum?

If I cast the Simulacrum spell, and then use the Twinned Spell metamagic to cast it again, targeting myself and the first simulacrum, is the first simulacrum destroyed? What happens?
João Grando's user avatar
  • 1,885
5 votes
2 answers

How does multiple creatures sharing a turn interact with once-per-turn abilities?

This question was brought to mind upon reading one of the bullet points in this answer (regarding a Marilith's ability to take a reaction every turn), which reads: This limits you to one attack per ...
smbailey's user avatar
  • 5,782
3 votes
1 answer

What deductive reasoning capabilities would a soulless Simulacrum with an Intelligence score of 22 have?

Assume that: A level 17 Wizard (School of Evocation) with an Intelligence score of 22 is able to create a finite but arbitrarily large number of simulacrums of himself, using the widely known ...
C. A. Jones's user avatar
  • 4,344
3 votes
1 answer

Can you use consumables and charges with Astral Projection without really consuming them?

Astral Projection creates an astral copy of your body, replicating your possessions. Your astral body resembles your mortal form in almost every way, replicating your game statistics and possessions. ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers

What is the maximum damage you can deliver per day with Glyphs from a Demiplane or Portable Hole?

An exploit to circumvent the movement restrictions of glyph of warding is to cast the glyph on the walls of a demiplane or portable hole. As that space never moves, the glyphs can virtually be carried ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar

15 30 50 per page