Linked Questions

5 votes
1 answer

How do Feign death and resurrection spells interact? [duplicate]

What happens if a caster casts Feign Death on himself and another caster (that believes that the first caster is really dead) try to cast a resurrection spell? Does the second caster understand that ...
firion's user avatar
  • 8,610
2 votes
0 answers

What happens if you cast magic missile at an illusion? [duplicate]

From a comment on one of my answers: "An illusion isn't a creature so Magic Missile can't target it. RAW doesn't say what happens if you try to cast a spell with an improper target but the RAI is that ...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 89.6k
4 votes
0 answers

Spell Targeting, Or: Can I use the fire bolt cantrip as a flare gun? [duplicate]

This is intended as a very general question on spell targeting but let's focus on a very specific example. The fire bolt cantrip description states: You hurl a mote of fire at a creature or object ...
Andreas Tsevas's user avatar
32 votes
8 answers

Can you prevent players using cantrips to tell whether a creature is disguised as an object?

As it is established in the question below that there is some distinction between a cantrip that targets a creature and targeting an object: What happens when a caster targets an object that looks ...
TREB's user avatar
  • 3,213
38 votes
8 answers

Does Mirror Image affect spells that have no attack roll?

I have two questions concerning the mirror image spell. If I am under the effect of mirror image and was targeted by a spell like blight, do I roll a 1d20 to determine whether myself or an image was ...
suzeff's user avatar
  • 705
28 votes
10 answers

What happens to a Chain Lightning spell with invalid primary target and valid secondary targets?

This question asks what happens when a single-target spell has an invalid target. (A target that is not legitimately permissible, not a target that is weak from illness or injury). The answer to that ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 51k
24 votes
5 answers

Can Alarm be used to detect hidden creatures?

Alarm can be cast over a 20×20×20 ft (or smaller) area within a range of 30ft, and has a casting time of 1 minute. Until the spell ends, an alarm alerts you whether a Tiny or larger creature touches ...
Raaid Khan's user avatar
25 votes
7 answers

Can you counterspell a spell if you don't know who's casting it?

Related to this question about a spellcaster hiding in a group of spellcasters. The reaction trigger for counterspell is "when you see a creature within 60 feet of you casting a spell". It has a ...
Mark Wells's user avatar
  • 22.2k
24 votes
2 answers

What happens if you cast Counterspell on a creature that is not casting a spell?

Inspired by this question: Can Minor Illusion/Silent Image be used to make it look like you're about to cast other spells, to waste enemy Counterspells or Dispels? Here's the scenario: A party ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 94.7k
16 votes
3 answers

Does a spellcaster know when their spell has no effect due to a save or immunity?

Suppose a cleric casts Zone of Truth on a captured enemy. Unbeknownst to them, the enemy is a rakshasa. Zone of Truth says (PHB, p. 289): You know whether each creature succeeds or fails on its ...
Marq's user avatar
  • 27.3k
20 votes
2 answers

Do you waste a spell slot if you try to cast a spell without the correct components?

A recent question got answers indicating, among other things, "If you spend 100gp on a pearl but the seller ripped you off and the pearl you got is only worth 50gp, then it doesn't count as a 100gp ...
Kamil Drakari's user avatar
12 votes
2 answers

Does a Cloak of Displacement prevent Magic Missile from hitting?

A Cloak of Displacement projects an illusion, making it appear as if you are standing in a different place near your actual location. The magic missile spell never misses, but in this case it will be ...
Billy the baby goat.'s user avatar
19 votes
3 answers

Does magic missile hit silent image's illusory creature?

Magic missile says: You create three glowing darts of magical force. Each dart hits a creature of your choice that you can see within range. Silent image says: You create the image of an object,...
Jack's user avatar
  • 32.1k
16 votes
3 answers

What happens when you cast Fog Cloud behind a wall?

I'm puzzled by the "a clear path to the target" rule. To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. This seems straightforward: you can't target a ...
Bash's user avatar
  • 2,751
14 votes
4 answers

What happens if a Player Misty Escapes into an Invisible Creature

The Archfey warlock patron grants the Misty Escape feature at level 6 (PHB p. 109). Part of the description of the feature states: When you take damage, you can use your reaction to turn invisible ...
SeraphsWrath's user avatar
  • 7,430

15 30 50 per page